To Run or Not To Run?

in #fitness7 years ago

me at gym.jpg

I have been on a quest to improve myself and lose weight. I have lost 50 pounds, but still have 100 to go. I realize that it will take at least another year to lose it, so I have settled down and am hunkering down for the long haul.

My energy has improved and I am lighter in my step, so my mind is often flirting with the idea of running. Now, mind you, I am 5'3" and still well over 200 pounds. To say that running puts a body in motion is an understatement, lol! I'm walking and working out, and I keep my heart rate around 160 the whole time to build stamina.

My super-buff son tells me to be patient and not to do too much too soon, so I won't injure myself. This is very good advice and I remember it, but I still get that urge to run. It's crazy because I don't particularly like running. I did a marathon 11 years ago just to say I have done one, and I haven't done a whole lot of running since then. That's why this urge is strange. I jogged a little yesterday intermittently while I was walking, and it didn't feel awful. I could definitely feel the increased stress on my body though.

Have any of my fellow steemians had crazy urges like that? When you gave in, how did it turn out for you? It is curious, given my state of relative inactivity for the past 5 or 6 years. I'll keep you posted. Until next time, keeping setting and reaching those goals!

@borednurse

Sort:  

Thank you, davidconstantine!

If your 5'3" and 200lbs, I would not suggest running. You will most likely get injured. Just keep a brisk walk everyday and watch what you eat.

Thank you glennolua. I appreciate your advice greatly.

Congratulations @borednurse! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 68781.96
ETH 3736.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73