My Fitness trail introductionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fitness8 years ago

In 1968 I started hanging out with folks from the Baba Sri Chand Ashram after taking Yoga lessons with them at the YMCA in 1967. They did not know I was, at the time, a thirteen year old homeless runaway. In a short time I joined up with an offshoot, who lived in some abandoned shacks in an orange grove, had a small garden, and practiced Yoga and what we now call sustainable living.

Sorry, that's literally the only
photo of me from that time

I was a skinny kid learning Yoga, Shiatsu and various martial arts during the late sixties and early seventies, in Orlando Florida. In a little while I was teaching, growing organic veggies and had taken over one of the other shacks. Until the cops found me and tried to send me home. I came back but the guys wouldn't let me stay. I lived on the streets taking Judo at the YMCA until I was 18.

As an adult I found a job and a place to live, started taking Aikido and Wing Chun, started college, basically had a life until I was 40 years old.

Then one day I woke up tired. I had been sick, but this was bone deep weariness. I usually woke up in a flash, often actually leaping out of bed with a belly laugh. But my overactive metabolism had crashed, perhaps due to the fever from the previous week, more likely from my years of eating vegetarian but high carb diets. I doubled my exercise, cut more fat from my diet, checked with my chiropractor, my acupuncturist, and my naturopathic doctor - but gained 100 lbs that year anyway. I went from a decent but robust adult weight for a 6'2" muscular and very active man - to a blobby fat man, much faster than I could adjust. I still thought of myself as skinny.

Later I learned how to reduce my weight and restore my activity level with a low carb diet, but some damage had already been done. I will never recover from the neuropathy I don't suppose. But for 18 years or so I have been mostly recovered in other ways. In the last few years I am afraid I did some permanent damage to my ankle and knees, walking too much on old damaged joints. It pretty much stopped me about a year ago and I gave up on my diet in response. This was not good.

Now it's time to change all that. I've started by getting back on my diet, and beginning earlier today I'm reteaching myself Yoga. I haven't really done any actual Yoga for almost 40 years, some MA stretches, but not really Yoga. It's hard to remember the words, but some of the motions are kind of seeped into my bones.

What I plan to do is gradually make a moving routine that combines Yoga, some body weight exercise, and some martial art motions. I have committed to doing one added minute per day, up to 30 minutes. If it goes like I figure, that might be a decent start. So that's where I am at, and that's why I am going to haunt the Fitness-trail at Steemtrail.


Please try my Future History stories - Enmity
Sort:  

Hello @baerdric,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to learn more about receiving additional TRAIL tokens and SteemTrail, stop by and chat with us.

Happy TRAIL!

It's very interesting post!
Thank you for sharing :)

Welcome to Steemit @baerdric :)

Welcome to Steemit! Nice post!

Thanks! I've been here a little, just adding info for the Fitness tag.

Welcome to Steemit! :))

What is the nature of the damage to your knees and ankles?

I have "tarsal tunnel syndrome" in my left ankle (which I hope corrects with myofascial work) and RA cartilage damage in my right knee. Plus, decades of seiza (kneeling) in Aikido has given me bursitis in both knees.

Most days it's not a problem unless I have to walk any great distance. The knee starts to grind after about a half a mile and just keeps getting worse. Then the limping puts too much pressure on my tarsal ligaments. Too many years of being a tall fat man.

Have you been having bone broths for the cartilage damage? They might help. Or we have clients who get good results for arthritis with Collagen hydrolysate supplementation. Not sure whether that is RA or OA though.

I do use bone broth. And it might be getting better, I make sure not to walk enough to cause more damage. I only had three RA flare ups so far, only once in both knees, and I don't believe that cartilage damage can't fixed with diet. I had some tooth repair which is supposed to be impossible too.

Hi there! My name is Jade, I am from South Africa! Nice to see you here, and what you say is true, the muscle memory never leaves! Although I am very young, I have a lot of recurring injuries because of skeletal defects. I try not to let that influence my practice though. I am currently in training to be a yoga teacher. Wish you all the best!

Thank you! Good luck, I remember my time teaching Yoga as one of the most rewarding parts of my life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57893.29
ETH 3130.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44