Sort:  

Cheers @aussieninja

I've got a MTB ride with some young guys coming up soon so I'm trying to build some strength endurance and power so I can keep up with them. I can't squat heavy because I have no cartilage in one of my knees either but what I'm doing seems to be a good way to work around my problems and still get an effective workout.

It's all about injury-management hey? I'm so glad you're keeping at it... most people totally give up when injuries slow them down! Trying to keep up with everyone else is pretty much my main motivator in all my training...

Yeah managing injuries is a big part of my life.

I give up sometimes too, I just never have the commitment to stay "given up" ;)

When I was road & track cycling I always trained to win, even if I was only realistically going to be in the running for a 3rd or even 5th place my motivation was to train to win.

It payed off many times too, if the expected winner got a flat the fifth place I was in contention for suddenly became a 4th and a possible place on the podium & if I was in contention for a 3rd when the leader dropped out I'd be in the running for a win & I did win many times and made quite a bit of money in the process.

Train to win not to keep up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68773.73
ETH 2716.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72