Overlooked Gym Equipment + Exercise Ideas

in #fitness7 years ago

Heard of These?

Sometimes the simplest exercise equipment is best, here are three of the cheapest and most overlooked tools for sculpting your body.

Medicine Ball

Is undoubtedly one of the best investments I ever made in gym equipment. It is simple a weighted ball, they come in a variety of weights and some have handles.

My medicine ball
6 - Copy.JPG

What makes the medicine ball come into its own is the ability of exercises to increase both strength and muscular endurance at the same time. It also gives you the option of working out with a partner, unlike most gym equipment which is individuals only.

Best Single Person Exercises

The twist, stand with your legs slightly more than should width apart and with toes pointing slightly out. Pick up the medicine ball, hold it out in front of you with straight arms and rotate your torso from side to side. Stop when you reach maximum extension and go the other way. Keep your arms at the same level - enjoy the pain :)

Medicine Balls
4 - Copy.jpg

Another exercise is the uneven push up using the medicine ball as hand placement. This makes the push up a lot harder and will really give your torso a workout to remember!

The final exercise I recommend is similar to the first except you move the ball towards and away from your chest. You can put your arms on different levels to make this harder. My personal favourite is to point the ball towards the ground, bring to the centre of my chest, push out again level and then bring the ball back and push out above my head. Then do the whole thing in reverse until I get tired.

Partner Exercises

Because there are so many exercises to do with a partner I have chosen my favourite one to talk about. For me standing back to back and passing the ball around is a fun exercise and trains your coordination with your partner. An excellent way to get people engaged in working out!

Sandbag Weights

The biggest advantage of this gym piece is its flexibility, because it moulds to your body so well adding weight to your sit ups is easier. Having no handles or grip you are forced to use your forearms, which really conditions them. For exercises you can mimic those done with a medicine ball.

My Small Sandbag Weight
7 - Copy.JPG

Big sandbag weights look like duffel bags with two handles but is filled with sand. This is a great piece of kit that is best used for full body movements, or isolation exercises if your a beast.

Ab Wheel

Used primarily for abs, it can also be used for push-ups and in bridges too. The best exercise for me is to kneel down, cross my legs, straighten my arms, put the wheel as close to my knees as possible and keep my back straight. I then lean forward to the maximum extent and then flex my abs to recover my position.

Ab Wheel
3 - Copy.JPG

Conclusion

I hope you have found some inspiration from my post, consider getting this equipment. In the UK an ab wheel is £5 medicine ball £5-15 and the sandbag weights £8-20. Happy training!

Minds: https://www.minds.com/AspiePrepper
Steemit: https://steemit.com/@aspieprepper
Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/aspieprepper
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC8WohhlmLNq2B5w3dV84Omw
Vidme: https://vid.me/AspiePrepper
Paypal: paypal.me/AspiePrepper

Sort:  

I haven't used the Ab Wheel in a longtime, but there was a point I was using it regularly. Such a basic piece of equipment, but it worked really well!.

I think exercise bands are underrated.

They almost made the post, but I decided to stick with top 3 so not to overwhelm people.

Some great suggestions there man, keep the posts coming :)

This post has received a 2.44 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @aspieprepper.

This post has received a sweet gift of Dank Amps in the flavor of 8.33 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @geordieprepper. Vote for Aggroed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60794.44
ETH 2623.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62