The Treat Chronicles Part 1 - My 10% :)

in #fitness6 years ago


Mmm... Taiwanese noodles with pork belly. One of my all-time favorite treats.

As a fitness coach, I do my best to practice what I preach - I make the best decisions I can regarding my nutrition, exercise, and recovery habits as frequently as possible.

One thing that I recommend to my clients that is a super important part of my own fitness philosophy is the 90/10 rule. If you follow my blog you've probably noticed me mentioning this before, but in case you haven't, the 90/10 rule can be explained as follows:

Stick to your plan 90% of the time, and really stick to it perfectly, so that 10% of the time you can indulge without guilt or appreciable regression.

This works for those who choose to count macros as well as those who don't - eating whole, unprocessed, nutrient-dense foods 90% of the time and sprinkling in a few treats here and there makes for a pretty good balance and an overall healthy lifestyle for pretty much anybody!

So I want to share a little bit with you about this as it applies to my own life, but perhaps not in the way you'd think :)

When using this technique myself, I try to decide when it's truly worth it for me to indulge... When I'm really excited or fired up about a food experience, I go for it and enjoy it to the fullest!

On this note, I thought it might be fun to share some of my treats (and treat meals) with you guys!

Since I mostly post about healthy recipes and fitness-friendly nutrition, I wanted to let you in on some of the times when I deviate from my 90% and indulge - another facet of the whole practicing-what-I-preach thing :)

I like experimenting with recipes, trying exciting things at restaurants, and enjoying meals with loved ones - all of which I'd like to share with you, because it's a big part of what makes my life happy and fulfilling!

You too can make these things a part of your routine AND live a fit and healthy life, and I intend to continue to show you how! :)

Even fitness pros, elite athletes, and coaches eat treats now and again, whether they talk about it or not... So I say let's talk about it!

I don't know about you, but being disciplined all the time and constantly having to say no to everything that's not expressly healthy would drive me absolutely insane.

So join me in this balanced life, and let's talk about the treats as well as the times we walk the straight and narrow!

Plus, who doesn't like thinking about, talking about, reading about, and looking at food? :D

Macaroni and cheese with pulled pork and crispy onions, anyone?

More to come on this topic - stay tuned!

Please feel free to comment, upvote, or resteem if you'd like!

www.RVLfitness.com

My Post (3).jpg

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-16T16:17:15
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 18.05/100.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Tasty

Posted using Partiko Android

Upvote me too

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58183.32
ETH 2475.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38