Morning Beach Walk - Getting Our Steps In!

in #fitness6 years ago

Good morning, friends!

I must say that my day is off to a wonderful start :) Chris and I had a little extra time this morning, so we headed to Starbucks after work where we ran into some friends and chatted for a bit outside. When we went in to order our coffees, they were already waiting for us - the baristas had seen us through the window, remembered our order, and went ahead and made them! It was so sweet!

After that, we headed down to one of our favorite beaches for a nice, long walk. We talked, laughed, and enjoyed the gorgeous view - all while keeping a pretty brisk pace!

This was such an easy, beautiful way to begin our day with some activity that felt like a special treat instead of a chore :)

One of the easiest ways to drive up your NEAT (Non-Excercise Activity Thermogenesis - read more about it HERE] is to take more steps - and what better way to add to your total than by walking by the ocean with someone you love? :)

Especially if it's been awhile since you've engaged in a consistent workout routine, driving up your daily step count can make quite a bit of a difference in terms of your daily burn... So grab a pal or your special someone and get walking!

Because we both have other workouts that we prioritize and consider our daily "exercise," Chris and I think of our step count as part of our NEAT - but there's nothing wrong with considering it to be part of your daily exercise regimen if you'd prefer!

While I wouldn't necessarily recommend relying only on your step count as your daily exercise, it's an easy way to track and ensure that you're getting plenty of movement throughout the day. It's easy to find ourselves sitting down a lot between work, commuting, and relaxing after a long day, so setting a goal can really help to get you up and about more!

Chris and I have decided to shoot for 10,000 steps a day, in addition to our gym workouts, to start keeping better tabs on our NEAT and making it more consistent - will you join us in our goal?? :)

Let me know if you have a step goal, and your favorite ways to reach it!

Please feel free to comment, upvote, or resteem if you'd like :)

www.RVLfitness.com

My Post (3).jpg

Sort:  

What a wonderful place to walk.

I stopped jogging when I got a job in the city. Four hours of commuting a day just doesn't leave time. Fortunately one hour of that is walking and I'm on my feet all day. Averaging 14000 steps!

It really is :) I'm very lucky! Wow, way to maximize your activity even with such a demanding schedule!! Cheers, my friend! :)

Nawwwww!

Yeah, we're deep in the forest and it's summer so we go for walks quite a lot at the moment... there's almost 100% chance of seeing a cool eagle or hawk or a deer or squirrel at the moment, which just makes it all very, very pleasant. My partner has been collecting blackberries along the way.

Oh wow! I bet that's incredible :) I love being in the forest - it's the opposite of our typical "habitat" but it's beautiful and so peaceful... How fun for you guys to see wildlife and find blackberries too!

Morning beach walk....how romantic! hahaha :) Seriously though, that is the perfect date! haha :)

It was haha!! :) We love to find opportunities for little dates throughout the week :)

So cool! I think more couples need to get their dates in!! It has become a lost art....lol the art of dating! haha

I have my goal set at 10.000, but mostly hit around 8800. Will hit the 10.000 for the next two weeks as part of your plan.

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice!!! Good for you, friend :) Let me know how it goes!

I love the beach! I just got back from Australia and it reminded me a lot of California

Sweet! Me too, the beach is my happy place :) I bet the coastline was amazing in Australia... I'd love to go someday! Definitely envious of your travel! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48