It's FIG Season!!!

in #fitness6 years ago (edited)

Guys, I LOVE figs. They're definitely one of my top 3 favorite fruits, and I like them in everything! In salads, on pizza, made into jam and put on a burger...

For me, they're borderline TOO good - once I get some, I have trouble not eating ALL of them in one sitting!

I say this because although they have some lovely health benefits, such as containing a good dose of fiber, potassium, magnesium, and calcium - all things that benefit the avid exerciser - they are a bit high in sugar for their volume, so it's important to keep your portions in check.

(They're AMAZING on a treat/snack/appetizer/cheese platter, let me assure you...)

I love the crunchy texture of the seeds, they chewiness of the flesh and the unique aroma. They are also SUPER sweet, which is what makes them irresistible to me! I could probably eat a pound of them with very little effort (and enjoy the experience thoroughly)!

However, because of their sweetness figs are pretty high in sugar, similar to grapes but with more fiber (which helps). 100 grams of fresh figs contains around 16 grams of sugar - twice the amount of sugar as the same size serving of peaches, more than twice the amount in 100g of watermelon... Just something to be aware of, as it is very easy to eat waaaaayyy more than 100 grams of figs in one go - at least it is for me! One large fig can easily be 50 grams, so keep that in mind!

5 small figs here was about 150 grams...

Here in Santa Barbara where I live, we only really see figs in our markets about twice a year, for only a couple of weeks each, which makes me sad but helps me to limit my fig consumption naturally ;)

I love eating nutrient-dense fruit for a treat from time to time, and this is one of my favorite ways to have it. If I can have a couple of figs instead of a brownie to curb my sweet tooth, I'd call that a win!

I try to concentrate the bulk of my fruit intake pre-and post-workout, in hopes that I can utilize most of those sugars in the gym! Although fruit isn't the absolute ideal pre- or post-workout carb in my opinion, there's no better time of the day to get it in :)

If you're anywhere near me, get your hands on some of these sweet little gems in a hurry - they won't be around for long!

Do you like figs? What are your favorite natural treats?

Please feel free to comment, upvote, or resteem if you'd like!

My Post (3).jpg

Sort:  

Very good information for me
However, because of their sweetness figs are pretty high in sugar, similar to grapes but with more fiber (which helps). 100 grams of fresh figs contains around 16 grams of sugar - twice the amount of sugar as the same size serving of peaches, more than twice the amount in 100g of watermelon... so i give you my vote 100%

The taste and smell of the figs are exquisite. I like it in syrup.

The taste and smell of
The figs are exquisite. I
Like it in syrup.

                 - corderosiete


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Your love for fig really sweet.You are really fond of eating it. Have you tried dry fig ? @annemariemay here in india you can eat dry one also & it comes in dry fruit category.

Haha I do really love them :) And yes I have! I don't like them as much as the fresh ones, but they're still really tasty!

I don't know if they can be eaten with salad but i LOVE it !! we have a the tree in our house and it's very special because this tree give a fruit for each leaf !! its unbelievable :)

Where there's a will there's a way!! Haha I like them in salad with mixed greens, goat cheese, candies pecans and balsamic dressing... You are SO lucky to have a tree!!! That's awesome! I hope to have a tree someday :)

My site peoples don't eat figs...they have used as an ayurvedic medicine, The medical advantages of figs or anjeer incorporate the natural products' utilization in the treatment of sexual brokenness, obstruction, acid reflux, heaps, diabetes, ...

Oh wow, cool - sounds like lots of applications for a sweet little fruit :)

Their peel colors remind me of watermelon, this color mixture of fig peel is not usual in my country.

Yes, totally! I actually don't think the striped variety is super common here either, so I buy them whenever I find them :) one market carries them almost every season so I make sure to buy them up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57142.47
ETH 2437.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39