Healthy Recipe: Protein/Veggie Smoothie!

in #fitness6 years ago

Good morning!

We found ourselves a little low on breakfast food at our house this morning, so I went ahead and whipped up a little "smoothie" for myself and my boyfriend Chris to share...

Looks good, right? Agreed :)

But before I pass on my recipe, I have to admit that I'm not a huge fan of smoothies in general. Not because I don't think they're delicious, but because I think they're one of the biggest bait-and-switch offenders in the health and fitness realm... Most of the smoothies out there for purchase (or recipes available online) are essentially fruit milkshakes - absolutely loaded with sugar, sometimes even including things like ice cream or sherbet, yet masquerading as a healthy choice.

For example, I won't name any names here but I peeked at the nutrition information for a local smoothie chain where I live, and it shows that their 12 ounce smoothies average at least 40 grams of sugar - around the same amount as a can of coca-cola. Damn! That's a LOT of sugar to consume in one sitting regardless of where it's coming from - even if it's from fruit.

"But Anne Marie, isn't fruit healthy?"

Sure - fruit is solid in terms of nutrients and all that, but it's not necessary (or very beneficial) to consume it in such tremendous quantity. Typically one serving of a smoothie provides more than the average person would need for a few days. Anyway, I digress...

Here's my take on what a "smoothie" should be: veggie-based, with plenty of protein and a little hit of fruit for flavor (and carbs) if needed. This way you get plenty of nutrition without the sugar high ;)

I put this recipe together with what we had on hand, but you can obviously make changes based upon what's available to you or what you prefer :)

AM's Berry Chia Smoothie
Serves 2 (or makes one HUGE serving)

1 cup (114g) frozen broccoli
1.5 scoops (48g) whey protein (I used Optimum Nutrition Whey Gold Cake Batter flavor)
1 cup (126g) frozen mixed berries (raspberries, blackberries, blueberries)
1 tbsp (12g) chia seeds
1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
1/2-1 cup water
1-3 packets stevia, to taste

Add all ingredients to a blender (liquids FIRST so your protein powder doesn't get stuck) and blend until smooth.

Note: you could also add a tablespoon of almond butter for a PB&J type feel and extra healthy fats… Just saying :) Also, frozen spinach, frozen kale, and frozen riced cauliflower all work well in this type of smoothie creation too!

Let me know if you try my recipe - I bet you won't even miss all that fruit!

Please feel free to comment, upvote, or resteem if you'd like! :)
My Post (3).jpg

Sort:  

this looks so delicious @annemariemay!! I want!

Oh good, yay! I hope you try it! :D

Great recipe, thank you for sharing!

You're so welcome, glad you enjoyed it!

ooh i woud love this smoothie, many thanks @annemariemay

Awesome! You're welcome - let me know if you try it!

Will give it a go, have that blender getting dust and been lazy to eat my broccoli lately. Is it going to taste real bad without the stevia?!

Sweet!! Can't wait to hear what you think about it! And no, I don't think it'll be too bad if you don't have stevia around... If you use a flavored protein powder it will be pretty sweet, and you can always add a few more berries if the taste bothers you :) I just like things really sweet haha so I use the stevia!

AJ picked your post @annemariemay for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.


You can also join The-Kitchen Discord Server for more food experience.

Awesome! Thank you, @ajala! :)

Great recipe @annemariemay! I also love to use greens in my smoothies, adding a banana or some berries always hides the veggie taste as well. Will try this recipe soon!

Nice! Banana definitely does the job too! So glad you liked the recipe and I can't wait to hear what you think of it when you make it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57946.22
ETH 3059.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34