You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weight loss and fitness: A milestone for me

in #fitness5 years ago

I was one of those guys that seemed to have magical genes until i hit right around 33. I ate whatever I wanted, I drank whatever I wanted, I rarely exercised intentionally, yet i was fit and trim and even had abs.

Im currently there and it always frustrates my brothers and friends and it frustrates them when I eat whatever, whenever, get hungry after 3 hours and it doesn't show. Granted, I'm into very few sugary things and do have some weights at home that I use, though sometimes I'll go 3 months without using.(now at a month and a half)

But yeah I also think weight training is way better. At one point I had spent nearly 3 years just eating junk food, drinking and partying practically every day with 0 excercises. So I decided to join the gym, and 2 months in I was lean af. At the same time one of my friends had had been doing cardio for as long as I can remember but wouldn't get proper results except when he would play basketball, which wasn't viable more often than not.

I suggested he also joins my gym, he did. And damn did he get way more result after just a few weeks. He now gyms way more than me and if he wasn't in another country he'd be pressuring me to go to the gym right now. So yeah, weights it is.

Oh my, this was intending to be a yeah me comment but it somehow spiraled out of control with the story. Still mostly a yeah me comment though :)

Sort:  

great follow up... i like how you linked my own words into your finish :)

The thing about cardio, especially sports like B-ball (which I also enjoy) is there is a much greater chance for injury, particularly to the ankles and especially for people once they get a bit older. Weights, when done properly in a controlled environment, have almost no chance of injury unless someone overdoes it and even then it is normally just some sore muscles for a bit.

I wonder how old you are? Are you gonna see the "age shutdown" sometime soon?

Cheers :)

I'm 26. My metabolism is still very fast but sometimes I can feel some mini changes so I guess I still have a few more years. I'll make sure to enjoy it as moderately as possible though, coz I'm certain I'll miss it like crazy once it's gone.

oh yes, you are still in the prime of your stomach being able to handle whatever. I think my consumption was likely at its worst when i was your age and like i said, nothing changed until around 35. You still got a while before you really have to get worried :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61823.88
ETH 2390.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57