Sometimes you just have to make the time

in #fitat405 years ago (edited)


Fit@40 #116

(25 Nov 2018)

Alternative Youtube link

Today's thought / video

I'm writing this at 4.30am. Yesterday morning, I was up a similar time. With three kids and a busy house, it is just the best time to get shit done.

Yesterday afternoon, I was speaking to one of the youngsters in my 'tribe'... I remember when he was a virtually a new born. He was the first babies I'd be entrusted to look after by myself. I was the age he is now, early twenties. I remember thinking just how small he looked as he slept in the centre of my kingsize bed in my one bedroom apartment.

Now, even though I'm 6'3" he dwarfs me. He has all the attributes of youth. Yet like I did when I was he age he takes them for granted.

He's a hard worker with a good job, however I wish he would spend more time on his personal development. Not the new age hippy stuff. The basics. Working out consistently and getting into good eating habits.

I don't have the time

He says.

I remember being single with no kids and no responsibilities and 'not having the time' to take care of the basics.

Now I realise time is as much a mental construct as a physical one.

When I said in the past "I don't have the time" to workout or watch what I eat, I now realise that what I really meant is

I don't have the time for that BULLSHIT as my time is pre-occupied with some other BULLSHIT

Often when you're young you're sucked into valuing the wrong thing. In this global village we are programmed from the cradle to be consumers without being mindful of the vessel into which we consume.

If you're lucky you catch yourself early. You realise, shit. I just have to make the time. Everything else can wait.

Or when life hands you responsibilities that can't wait, you make the time... when your responsibilities and the rest of the world sleeps.

Today's stats

DayMonthDayMorning WeightCalories InWorkoutProtein (g)Carbs (g)Fats (g)
SunNovember25221.2329530' Cardio session124316112

Today's workout

Jump rope/ Pressups

5min/ x20
5min/ x20

Cycle machine

20min, 300cal




fitat40-large.png


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Big brother... Your writing always inspired hell lot of me. I have various reasons for not hitting those bench presses but one reason to do 'em and that reason is to be fit at 40...

I gotta learn few things from you and discipline would be the first thing....

Respect and inspired, brother! Always looking for your next writing!!!!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

You're well. I'm glad to can help you a little on your journey.

Awesome Nanz! It's so true about being young free and single, when I had the little one I suddenly realised just how much time I actually had.

Good to see you back in the gym again, it took me about 2 weeks after Steemfest to do the same. Once you're back in the habit though it's no drama. :-)

Keep up the good work.

Cg

Glad to hear you're also hitting the gym too.

It was so good to finally meet, even though we had to go to Poland to do it! Let's do it again soon, but closer to home!

Yes man! Thinking of doing a meet-up in mid-to-late Jan to get over those January blues...

Cg

You could use @actifit It is a very interesting application for athletes, yeah!!!!!!!!!!! :)

I'll definitely take a look!

Yup, I definitely agreed that sometimes we have make time for ours. But spending time with others doing well and good for others is a proud feeling and especially when you get an appreciation by them :)

Great. When single, you are different, when married, you feel a little different also but when married with kids my man, you are totally different

Life has different stages.
Childhood then young and then old.
That's it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Totally agree , and we gotta keep pushing because our body may wanna give up but our mind is the master of all of it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 64646.46
ETH 3357.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.44