Fishing ... fail

in #fishingfail6 years ago (edited)

I guess this is just a photography post, no fish was caught today... nature won...

Anyway, this is Google's idea of 'beautifying' or whatever it is they call this automated photo 'enhancing' thing they do every now and then.
20180625_180713_HDR-EFFECTS.jpg

This is the original. Earlier in the day we've been trying to fish this river in a more open area but it was way too hot and sunny, both for us and the fish so we tried to find a less exposed place and got to this one.
20180625_180713_HDR.jpg

It's pretty cool to have such nice fishing spots 5 minutes walking distance from the centre of the town.
20180625_180203.jpg

20180625_180324_HDR.jpg

And that's about it ... no fish; only seen some swans and ducks that were just ambling along looking all superior... but it wasn't all a waste of time... walked a few miles and spent some time getting frustrated outdoors :D

Cheers!

Sort:  

What kind of fish were you hoping for? I just came back from my yearly fishing trip. It was too short and I'm trying to extend it in my mind.

Anything really... I'm usually using crankbaits, spinning or dropshotting so perch and pike are the main targets. On certain parts of the river I'm using a smaller crankbait or lure to target trout and the medium chub. But yesterday... yesterday I went through all those, even put a float on to try and get at least a minnow ... but nothing worked :)

Besides being too short, how was your fishing trip? Was it a fly fishing trip or a mix?

We had a good time. The first part of the trip was just my cousin, my father, and me, but then the rest of my family showed up and we had a big crowd. Both of my parents, my aunt, both of my siblings, spouses, five children.

My nephew is 12 and is catching the fishing bug. It is fun to see how excited he gets when he hooks up. We spend some time together and he was able to fool a couple trout on dry flies.

This section Penn's Creek is a wild trout stream - the state doesn't stock it because there is a natural reproducing population. We fish flies exclusively, but the regulations allow any type of lure or bait. Most of the time we use nymphs, but I like to switch to dry flies in the evening if the fish start rising.

It does sound like it was a great trip and you're right, it's always nice seeing someone get the bug!

I've never fly fished; I had a go at casting on land but it's not the same heh; it does look fun though, so I should give it a go at some point.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63665.23
ETH 2621.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77