Fly Fishing a Float Tube

in #fishing7 years ago

IMG_1475.JPG

Fishing a float tube is great fun! It doesn't matter if you are spin cast of fly fishing, they work great! You can get set up fairly inexpensively, but watch the weight ratings on the tube to ensure you get one proper sized. I have found Bass Pro and Amazon are best priced for these.
You will also need a PFD of some sort. In the province of Alberta you must have a PFD when piloting a water craft. Some waders, or a wet suit is also nice to have, especially when you get into some of the smaller ponds. They are not a necessity though. I personally like the stocking foot waders as the fit in fins nice, or you may wear wading boots. An anchor is nice to have, especially if you are out on some larger lakes. And lastly, a set of flippers to get around with. Larger fins are preferred because you can maneuver around with greater ease. I also like a waterproof box to keep my phone, truck key, etc in.

IMG_1466.JPG

A small net added to your tackle will assist you with sealing the deal on your catch. I have found when spin casting, a shorter rod of five and a half feet long to six and a half feet long is easier to manage while out on the float tube. Either way, what ever you have in your tackle already will do you just fine. A decent ice fishing rod would even work!

IMG_1433.JPG

Like any other outdoor water activity, keep an eye on the weather, and don't get too far out you can't get back. Choppy waters can be difficult and slow to maneuver. Perhaps a pontoon styled float tube would be better than the classic U-shape, but would still slow you down i'm sure. Alberta has had 5 rescue missions on Abraham Lake this July 2017, and unfortunately, a woman drowned this month on Gull Lake.

IMG_1497.JPG

So grab yourself a float tube and pfd and get out there and fish! If you are used to shore and dock fishing, this gets you out where others are not, it is fun and relaxing, and a great way to catch some fish! You also avoid almost all of the bugs that normally eat you alive on shore.

IMG_1590.JPG

Please leave your comments, questions, and pictures. And please follow! I try to follow my followers as well.

All pictures have been taken by myself.

Sort:  

upvoted and followed you, if you like hotchannal please follow me

Thank you! I will do the same.

Congratulations @zoltrix! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

That looks like fun. Is it difficult to paddle around with a large stringer of fish in tow?

It is fun, and really is easy. The most you really notice is a slight turning action when you are paddling.

I would be a bit nervous about turtles or fish nibbling on my toes, but that wouldn't be a problem with the paddles/fins.

Not sure on turtles, but i have fished in pike and walleye waters without problem. Easier than say trout because the depth hides alot.
I felt a pike once on my leg, but i had caught him and let him go....

I prefer to fly fish from a kayak, but the float tube looks cool too.

Have you tried fly fishing in salt water yet? it's very different

I'd like to try kayaking myself. No I have not fished salt water. Where I live i'm quite a ways from any ocean but it would be neat to try!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52