You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lake Bonney 24hr Fishing Trip

in #fishing7 years ago

Another Lake Bonney Fan :D
Used to go here when I was a kid and loved it, have not been back though but have visited other spots on the murray.
I like using really light line so you have to play with the fish, which makes it more fun. I do the same thing when I go bream fishing

Sort:  

Most places on the Murray are now inaccessible due to shacks and fencing etc. Those that you can get to for camping and fishing are now signposted that you have to book in advance and pay $15 per night. There are only 4 or 5 places that i know of that are still free.

OH damn I have not been to the river in about 7 years, There were some good spots around nildottie and walker flat. I hope they are still accessible. Great spots down there with the cliffs on the other side

Only place that i found accessible near or at Nildottie, is at Greenways Landing. There are several camping spots by the landing strip. Still free - i was down there 3 weeks ago. We tried walker flat but couldn't get access to the water for fishing. Please let me know if you find access when you next travel and i will investigate... Thanks.

Yeah the cliffs along that area make it hard to access, usually I travel on the eastern side of the river looking for spots.
I'm gonna go this weekend or next weekend, if the spot I like to go is still accessible I will mark it on google maps and take some photos of how to get there from the ferry at walker flaat