21 lb canal carp caught in summer

in #fishing7 years ago

This is up there with my all time best catches. Catching a canal carp is very difficult due to the fish been very nomadic. The fish can travel miles per day unhindered so picking a spot to catch them at is key.

The ideal spot is one which offers the fish some cover, wether that is lilly pads, overhanging bushes, reeds , weed ect. Any form of sanctuary for the carp will be a good place to start.

I chose a set of overhanging bushes surrounded by lilly pads on a slight bend of the canal. I opted to prebait for several days previous before my trip to try and keep the fish in one area.

Arriving a few days later i positioned my rods either side of the bushes and put a few handfulls of free offering (boilies) over the top.

I didn't have to wait long at all when i had a screaming take on my right hand rod. After an epic battle which lasted around 15 minuites i finally managed to get the net underneath it. This fish has most likely never been caught in it's life which is why they fight so hard on canals.

IMG_3040.JPG

Sort:  

looks a lot better than the force fed european ones

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50