UglyStik GX2 Spinning Rod

in #fishing6 years ago

I don't know a lot about fishing, but I picked this rod up a while ago to replace my other one that I was having problems with the reel. I picked it up as a bundle rather than just replace the rod.

I immediately noticed a difference in how well I could tell when I had a fish on, unfortunately it also feels similar when grabbing weeds as there are a lot of weeds where we fish.

The rod has a separate section on the top that is more sensitive than the rest of the rod. This is designed to give the fisherman more sensitivity when a fish bites.

While the difference isn't earth shattering, it is noticeable. While initially it is hard to tell the difference from a fish and weeds, once I get a lot of movement it is very noticeable. They also make a kids version of the Ugly stick for smaller rods.

The rod is a primarily graphite, with a fiberglass section near the top. While I expect it isn't the best stick on the market, it was reasonably priced and works really good.

I am considering switching to a bait caster reel at some point, but they get really expensive and more difficult to use.

I picked mine up as a combo for around $50 locally, but you can buy them on Amazon for similar price. The reel seems ok, but I suspect it is more entry level but was an improvement from my old rod from my childhood.

All images are from Amazon product pages

Sort:  

Amazing quality, the device can catch fish easily

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00