Another day in paradise

in #fishing6 years ago

In my town there are two boat ramps, the one I put in at has parking for, guessing I would say 30 boat trailers. Then there is one next to the city park and it has parking for around 300. Every time the city has an event they close the one by the park. Last weekend they had it closed so they could have a wildlife conservation affair. They had big pontoon boats taking people for rides around the river and for some reason they did not want people putting their boats in there. This weekend they are having a shrimp fest and the ramp is closed for 3 days. So anyone wanting to go on the river has to use the other ramp. I got up earlier in hopes that I would get a parking spot, but I think a lot of other people had the same plan. When I got to the ramp it was already full, The closest place for me to park was about a mile away, so I had to tie my boat out of the way of others in line to put over, then go park my truck and walk the mile back to the ramp. When I got back to the ramp, I set my drink on the dock and stepped down into my boat, I grabbed my drink of the dock and dropped it overboard. It is one of those big silver cups and I use a stainless steel straw, when it hit the water I thought I lost it, but to my surprise the cup floated to the top but I lost my straw..... On my first anchoring I caught 7 pompano in 20 minutes, but could only keep one the rest was to small. I moved and caught 5 but only kept 1. The next anchoring I caught 3, I fished till 4:30 and never caught another one, I ended up with 6 pounds, they were small fish. I caught an array of different fish today even a 40 pound stingray that pretty much kicked my ass. This is what we call horny toads, they blow up like a blow fish, I guess they are in the same family.IMG_20190316_132332.jpg
I caught a spotted sea trout, this is what we will fish for next when pompano end and trout open that will be May 1st, this one is even legal size but I had to throw it back because they are closed to commercial fisherman right now.
IMG_20190316_101617.jpg
This is a permit, which I had to throw back because commercial fishermen can not keep any of them, I caught it and a catfish at the same time. IMG_20190316_092637.jpg
This is a sailcat which I had to throw back because you have to have a state person on the boat with you when you catch these.
IMG_20190316_101624.jpg
I snapped this picture while walking to get my truck, and the end to a rotten day, of course it had to rain
IMG_20190316_164414.jpg
I parked on my friends property that does all the metal artwork, with it raining the gators eyes were lit up so I snapped a couple pics of it IMG_20190316_164836.jpgIMG_20190316_164848.jpg

Sort:  

I’m using Partiko to make friends and have fun on the Steem blockchain. You should as well! Here’s my invite link: https://partiko.app/referral/tixinhacapitinha, you will get 3000 Partiko Points for sign up bonus, and you can exchange them into Steem token!

Posted using Partiko iOS

@tixinhacapitinha but I do not have internet on my cell phone

Ok😅 thanks to say! 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

Don't bother supporting Partiko. They support spammers and plagiarists the same as anyone else, rewarding their bad behavior.

@jacobtothe thank you, I was not going to do it, my cell phone is a pay as you go, it is called a tracfone, I only carry it for emergency, drives my kids crazy that I do not talk on it. hahahaha

Oh that is annoying you don't have your own spot. So visitors first, those who need to work can...

Posted using Partiko Android

@wakeupkitty it is first ones there get the spot, this city likes to say they are an old fishing town but does not care about the fishermen, sometimes they close both ramps so the can have a parade. we don't work those days, even if fishing is good, it is sad.

Hello..:D
@myjob
Wow...!!!
That toad is amazing..!!! the spikes and colorful design pattern. And is blow's up too...😅😁🤷‍♀️.
Absolutely Fantastic metal alligator sculpture. It must weigh a ton.
:D

@annephilbrick yes they are amazing, fish come in all kinds of shapes and sizes, yes the alligator does weigh a lot, no worries of someone stealing it.

ell, it have froggy eyes! Also, who came up with all those names for the fish? If I ever find one without name I will call it eh... Fisherinno or Fishdoe! XD

@blacklux I love your fishy names, if I catch one without a name I will have to tell them that you get to name it, I caught a fish that I did not know the name and asked my husband what it was, I am not making this up, it is called a "slippery dick" Now who and why did they name it that!!!!

ahahahahaha!!

It's too bad there are so many restrictions on fishing, what you can keep and when and with whom. Classic government interference.

@scribblingramma yes it gets harder and harder to make a living at it. But that is what they want.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63211.44
ETH 2631.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71