My Daughters First Fish

in #fishing8 years ago (edited)

Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day.Teach a man to fish and he will eat for a lifetime.

I am a very proud and honored dad to be able to teach my 4yr old and my 6yr old daughters to fish. I was probably more exited than she was to see it come to fruition. She caught a pumpkinseed on her second cast and a while later she caught a little softshell turtle.

The turtle got off right as she got it on to the boat ramp we were fishing from, so like any good dad, I jumped into the river and chased it back to my daughter. We brought it home and put it in an aquarium and she named it Pinky Pie. It has a little snapping turtle friend in there my 6yr old named Shelly.

My 6yr old got skunked but she had a lot of fun and now they are hooked😀🐢🐟
Keep casting and help somebody.

Sort:  

A great catch for the novice angler )))

They were very excited about the whole process. They went crabbing today and had a blast.

Great catch! Is that a bluegill? What pound test is her line? I was raised on a rainbow trout farm. Love to fish. =)

It is a bluegill or pumpkinseed. I think they are the same thing. It was 8lb test on a Shakespear combo rod.

Pumpkinseed have just a tad more of a spotted gold color and an orange spot in the front of the gill cover.

EXCELLENT.

Also, give a man some steem, he will have some steem. Teach a man to steemit, the sky's the limit!

Love them turtles, that's like the bonus points in the fishing game. Jumped in a lake after a snapper today myself.

BTW - I really like the images! Good work!

Thanks so much for your help. Can't wait to tet those peppers.

I can try to imagine ho happy YOU are))

It makes me very happy, thanks.

I was gonna say she caught me... but I'm just a minnow and that guy is a little bigger ;-)

Actually I'm more like Algae!

Lol. She couldn't understand why we had to put it back. I told her it had to grow up and then we could catch it and eat it.

I think we all felt that way at the start. I stopped caring about the money and just post what I want to. I really love the community here too. My usual photo host went down and I had a really hard time figuring out how to deal with a new one. @papa-pepper helped and so did some people in the chat room. You really aren't alone on here, just reach out. I loved your post about the camper. Tell some more stories about what you love and the love will come back.

Thanks, the money isn't a big thing for me either. I'd like to post more stuff but I find time slips away as I'm getting older with other things going on. I have too many hobbies I think :-)

We had so much fun! And I must say that I felt a great deal of pride to watch my youngest girls casting their own lines. They did a very good job!

They had a great mom helping out!

Well done little miss!
I remember going fishing with my dad about that age, I think I was too impatient to actually catch anything though.

They both did so great! We took them crabbing today. They caught 8 keepers and a lot of little ones!

she is so cute and looks please enough with her catch. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58961.27
ETH 2500.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45