Reel Action Pt. 4: Post-Storm Conditions

in #fishing8 years ago (edited)

As the season rapidly approaches an end, we spend as much time as possible on the water. The fishing this year hasn't been spectacular but we've made the best of it. Most likely I will be upgrading to a larger boat next year so we can get further into the ocean. The little bass boat I have now isn't really supposed to be in two hundred feet of water! Yesterday we really tested what the boat could handle, post storm winds were crazy. The Merrimack river looked as if we were out on the ocean, it's not very often we see white caps! We anchored in our normal spot but it was just too rough. We had to fish deeper into the river to avoid waves, extreme current & wind.

Trolling away from the ocean is where we had our best luck. In this shot you can see the Newburyport Bridge. On both sides you can see a whole bunch of slips. I would love to keep my boat at a slip but we were told they cost thousands every month!

Nobody likes fishing on an empty stomach!

A closer view of the slips I mentioned before, these people are not messing around!

As we troll deeper inland I finally get a good strike on my pole. I was using a lure that was made in the 60's and I was unsure how well it would work. Well I was wrong, I guess they knew what they were doing back then! I kill the motor and my girlfriend reels in the extra pole. After a few minutes of fighting the fish in the current I finally get it in the boat.

The fish was a few inches of short of being a keeper. It was really to bad because this particular fish was very round, meaning if it had been a keeper we would have had a lot of food!

Becca didn't have much action yesterday. She caught this small striper while we were still in the mouth of the river. They call these ones schoolies because the small ones stay in a school to avoid being eaten. Generally where there is one schoolie there are thousands so it's time to move on to a new spot.

Another small one

Thanks for following Steemits only weekly fishing report! Don't forget to upvote, comment & follow!

You can see my last fishing report here!

You can see my review of our fishing poles here!

Take a stroll down memory lane with our first fishing report!

Sort:  

Good pictures and nice presentation . The food looks appetizing ???

Thank you! As far as presentation goes I learn something new every time I post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57800.38
ETH 3127.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40