Ice fishing in Canada

in #fishing7 years ago (edited)

At the beginning of 2017, I had the opportunity to fish trout on a frozen lake between British Columbia and Alberta, Canada; It was a unique experience. On that day the conditions were "perfect", -20 ° C, winds between 5 and 10 km per hour, and days before we reached -30 ° C, so the ice was quite thick. We leave at 5 am from home and drive almost two hours until we reached the lake. Unfortunately, one of the pickup trucks got stuck in the snow just before entering the lake. It took us an hour to get it out and prepare the way to get to the center of the lake.

Once in the center we prepared the holes to start fishing. Luckily, we had the ice driller so it was faster and easier than it usually was 20 years ago, or more. After making the holes it was time to remove the ice and prepare the tents to protect us from the icy wind. By 11 am, the first! I did not catch it, but I posed for the photo. We had to wait for three hours until they began to bite.

The truth is that two hours later the cold was already in the arms, so we started to make more holes. I borrowed the ice drill to practice and learn ... and watch for yourself what happens then.

What I learned is that once you get to the bottom, you let the throttle off! I was very lucky since the ice was thick. If it had been thin, I could have ended swimming at -20 ° C ...

After the incident with the drill, I was able to fish the first one! And then another to round the day!

What do you think of my experience?

Sort:  

This is very informative. Great post I will go through it in details after my day is done. I follow you.
Do not forget to vote in my post. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66466.45
ETH 3595.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90