Ono (Wahoo) Caught Spearfishing - Kona Hawaii - Commentary on the Health of Our Oceans

in #fishing6 years ago

a.jpg

My friend sent my this picture yesterday of an Ono (Wahoo) that he caught spearfishing off the Kona Coast in the Big Island of Hawaii.

The Ono is one of my favorite fishes to eat. I love it grilled, baked, and as sashimi (raw fish).

I am including the State, and World, records for the Ono below. The disturbing thing is that the records were over 13 years ago. This does not speak well for the health of our oceans, considering fishing methods have advanced and that everything is posted on the Internet.

Hawaii State Record

PelagicsWeightAnglerLocationDate
Ono (Wahoo)133.2 lbsTom Brandt & Sky MullinsPohoiki, Hawaii12/02/00

ono.jpg

The World Record

The IGFA All-Tackle world record wahoo was caught in Cabo San Lucas in 2005 and weighed 184 pounds.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62980.29
ETH 2631.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82