You Ate My What!!! (Featuring new author @baracuda)

in #fishing8 years ago

During a recent fishing trip organised by our company this truly happened.
We arrived at the dam at 06h00, the sun rising beautifully in its orange morning clad. I found a place where I could launch my three-meter boat and after wallowing in the mud, getting stuck and unstuck I managed to launch.

This was a rarely fished dam and fish was aplenty. The rules of the competition were simple, biggest fish, most fish, most species and smallest fish all had a prize. I decided to fish for bass first as these critters loves eating at sunrise. Ten minutes into the competition my first bass was on the streamer.

The fishing gods were smiling upon me and one bass after the other was reeled in. To my surprise most of the other competitors did not have that luck. I was fishing mainly on plastic lures in a pumpkin seed colour with a Texas rig. Before ten my streamer of five was full and I proceeded to the weigh in station. OK, ok my fish were not that big but they counted.

Back in the saddle, round two, this time I am looking for Sharptooth Catfish. Trying at first with lures but no success. I spot a big bird sitting on a branch and steer the boat in that direction. As it flies off it leaves a squirt of poo behind. I cast my lure where the poo fell and instantly was rewarded with a solid strike. Man these thing put up a fight. That spesies in the bank, I return to the weighin station . No one else is catching Catfish?

Last species, Tilapia, fortunately catching these things is as easy as pie. A Good sized worm on a small hook, a float and away you go. Sure enough one hour later and my five limit is full. Some people actually eat these things but to me they taste like mud cakes. (Maybe someone out there can give me a recipe?) As I return to the weigh in station I beach my boat and notice some really small baitfish scurrying around. Hey! this is what I need... I scramble through my gear and find a really small hook.

Taking some line off my reel, I attach the small hook and a tiny bit of worm – today I am going to catch one of these things with a hook. Yea right, this sounds easy enough, but my friend try this. It is so frustrating. They nibble the worm off before it reached the bottom. Strike after strike then more by chance than anything else I hook one. He he smallest fish prize is mine. I am feeling quite confident at this time. I place the small baitfish in an open beer can filled with water.

Asking one of my colleagues to hold onto the fish as I weigh in my Tilapia. All the guys were laughing at my small fish and some started taking photos while my colleague held on to it. Turning around to get my small fish checked out, I was just in time to see the, by now intoxicated colleague, swallow my “Sushi”. Hey! You ate my trophy fish. Later the entry was allowed as photos were taken of him eating my fish. All the other guys standing around resounded as on man “You ate his what?

Glad to say I walked off with most of the prizes, glowing happy and sunburnt, I got the boat out of the water. Every now and then someone would shout: You ate his what!


@dragonslayer109 features authors to promote new authors and a diversity of content. ALL STEEM Dollars for this post go to the featured author

Don't just follow me, follow the author as well, if you like their post - @baracud. Thank you

Sort:  

me about 2 weeks ago with a big snuk, caught while camping

Fun read, thanks, namaste :)

This was enjoyable to read! Thanks for sharing!

Man that is a GIANT if you post under fishing I will visiting you daily thank you for checking this out/ It is a true story by the way

Good fishing & Steem-ing!

Thank you friend watch this space

Nice good story well written. Tilapia is a great fish! (Aslong as it isnt bought from china) so im glad to see you caught some nice fish.

Thank you friend watch this space for great stories tips and advice

Baracuda thank you so much. I truly enjoyed your article. I love your writing style. You are an inspiration to us all.

Thank you friend you must be on my side to feel hoe nice it is to write them for you ml

I've never been a fisherman, but for some reason I think it's cool when people catch big fish.

When you are on the dam even if you do not catch anything, the calmness and the beuty of nature is amazing, thank you for your comment

Well, I do find peace in nature. I live in a big city and my get away is the dog park up the street. I like it because it's quiet.

interesting post @dragonslayer109, I like fishing too, its a pity that link to @baracud is not working on my labtop, Ill try later, Im sure we`ll make friends with him :)

some where I lost the "a" it should be baracuda, sorry, I will be on the lookout for you friend thank youwhere are you from?

Im from Saint-Petersburg (Russia) :)

I would love to read some fishing or motorbiking stories from your end of the world. I am from South Africa

That's perfect.
This subject is useful and we hope that abound from this topic threads

Fishing and driving mt motorbike is my life. I have lots of hints and stories to follow. Thank you for checking this out, will be looking out for yours

I bet fresh caught tilapia is dank af.

I have no idea what dank af means but thank you for your comment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62816.09
ETH 2466.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64