The Time I caught a MONSTER Bass

in #fishing6 years ago

I grew up in Iowa, where the cornfields are vast and wide and the people dwell mostly outdoors. One of my favorite things to do outdoors was to go bass fishing. My friends and I would pack up the cooler with soda and sandwiches and then hit the country road to ponds chalked full of fish.

IMG_0286.jpg

We caught small to medium size fish, we mostly went for quantity of quality. I remember we would yell back and forth to each other when we caught a fish.. "NUMBER 5!" We did it for the thrill and to enjoy the outdoors.

I remember this particular time I went out to fish by myself. It was a quiet evening and I had nothing better to do. My buddies from High School were going out to Applebee's or something and I counted myself out to go fishing. I went to a local pond in my hometown that was about 3 blocks from a Wal-Mart, not the ideal choice but I thought I'd give it a shot.

I did the normal routine of starting at one corner of the lake and working my ways clockwise. I caught a few lil fish here and there but nothing to call my mom yelling about :)

IMG_0157.jpg

UNTIL:

I made my way around to the other side which was a lot shallower than the rest of the pond. I was getting tied up in seaweed every other cast but didn't get discouraged- like I said I had nothing better to do.

I vividly remember casting my lure and feeling really good about it. Suddenly my lure stopped in its tracks. My first thought was, "Oh, great; another snag." Except, before I could finish that thought my line started to move side to side.

At that moment I had no idea what to think but I did know I had something big on the other end of my line. I kept the line tight and kept tugging.

I fought it closer and closer to shore until it was maybe 5 yards and that's when it really gave a big tug. I was afraid my line was going to snap! I set the drag until the fish pulled back out to where I first felt it hit and started all over.
(with big fish you really gotta tire them out)

Eventually, after a good 10min. of fighting this beast I was able to pull it closer to shore where, without thinking anymore, I jumped in the water after it and scooped it up like a fumbled football.

IMG_0269.jpg

The result: A MONSTER BASS was landed and I actually had a crowd behind me watching/cheering on the bike path.

If you love to fish or just love the outdoors too then give me a follow- I have several more fishing stories I'd like to share.

Sort:  

I can always read another fishing story.

Also, I would like to take a minute to introduce you to @myhuntingfishing blog and #myhuntingfishing Community.

I think the tag would be very appropriate for some of your posts.

You can read more about it here

https://steemit.com/myhuntingfishing/@myhuntingfishing/attention-hunters-fishers-firearms-enthusiasts-oudoor-lovers-communities-are-already-here-steem-giveaways

Good Fishing!

Loved the story!!! Upvoted and will definitely be following you and resteeming this post! As our ambassador @huntbook mentioned, please consider using the #myhuntingfishing tag and following @myhuntingfishing it will help ensure our community doesn't miss your next posts!

Nice post and a sweet bass! Catching them that size is so much fun! Way to go, @dallug3

smileys hat.jpg

I don't fish but I love the outdoors and get the thrill. Really nice writing though @dallug3 - and sounded like a real buzz for you!

Congratulations @dallug3! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60209.45
ETH 3212.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43