Crypticat Goes Fishing

in #fishing6 years ago

Hi Everyone,

One of my favorite things to do while on vacation is to go fishing. I've been doing it for years and always go with friends and family. We usually catch Walleye and Smallmouth Bass, sometimes getting Pike, Lake Trout or even Whitefish. The post title lies, but the fish stories are true; Crypticat has never been on a boat but we have shared some of the spoils with her.

A Big Bass
IMG_20180820_192649.jpg

That one was too big to keep, I suppose you could keep it, but the smaller fish taste better so back it goes. We all have sport fishing licenses in this house and throw back more than ninty percent of what we catch. Keeping a large bass that has lived more than 10 years isn't the tastiest idea, I usually won't keep one over 2lbs and this one is considerably bigger than that.
A Small Bass
IMG_20180820_193312.jpg

This one is too small to keep although you could cut it up and eat it in a pinch; if we were hungry and the fish weren't biting or maybe if it was going to die regardless. The small fish usually get to live another day. On a good outting, you can catch dozens of bigger fish (or even hundreds if you believe me)

A Good Haul
IMG_20180804_223106.jpg

These fish are just right. There's a Walleye or two in there and a couple of delicious eating sized bass. A few loads like this is all a family needs until the next fishing trip.

Not the Lucky Ones
IMG_20180819_200609.jpg

No matter what your secret is, nothing beats frying fish in batter. All you need is flour, baking powder, milk, salt and a lot of oil. Can't wait until the next catch!

steemitpagebreak.png

Thank you for taking the time to read this post. Please share some stories and photos below. I should take more pictures to back up these fishy tales but am usually too busy getting the line back in the water and forget. The secret to fishing is...you will catch more fish if your line is in the water 😸 photos are for amateurs or best saved for the next big one!

Bye for Meow 😺 mRrrrrrrr...

Sort:  

Woow awesome...... I never fishing so I have no idea how to that exactly and tricks etc but I really enjoyed your article.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for dropping by. You should definitely try fishing, anyone who tells you it's just luck doesn't know how to fish

Bass can get huge .... nice catch. I went trout fishing only once this year and only caught one that wasn't big enough to keep so I put it back. I am thinking about going again tomorrow or the next day.

Do it and show us you're catch. Good luck with the fishing!

I ended up going and caught two very small rainbow trout about 6 inches long so I never kept them.

Haven't done a whole lot of fishing around here, but on the few occasions I have been out on a friend's boat, it was for salmon and halibut. Those make some really good eating, too!

=^..^=

They sure do!

Some nice fishes. Deep fried and battered is good but cooking fish is too typical try salted raw smoked dried or maybe fermented for a real treat...

Please don't eat lake fish raw, they have parasites. Smoked trout is great, and I often bake the walleye

Dear author, I really like your content! You’re writing in a very interesting manner!
I think my last post will also be interesting for you.
https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@cryptofrau/buddy-platforma-dlya-avtomatizacii-razrabotki

Please, upvote it! I’ve upvoted your in advance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55