Friday Fishing: Billfish Fishing

in #fishing6 years ago

My friend snapped this picture of a marlin in mid jump off the coast of California…

FC03222A-4268-47E2-A17B-477EE11DCCE7.jpeg

What a stunning picture and a stunning fish!

Billfish (marlin, sailfish, swordfish) are highly sought after game fishes, and most everyone practices catch and release. The primary method of catching a billfish is by trolling topwater lures so the strikes are a sight to behold.

I personally have never targeted billfish on the ocean before. The primary reason is that they are scarce and tough to catch, so you can go all day without a single bite, and all you do is troll around. The skill is not really in the angler, but in the boat captain. Due to this, it can cost $200+ to go out and troll around for the day in boat gas, so the cost vs reward of landing and releasing a billfish is not something I have felt is worth it. I would like to get out there and give it a try one time… there are places where the fish are closer and more plentiful (some places down in Mexico), so I am sure it will happen at some point… just hasn’t happened yet!

In the meantime, I will continue to stare in awe at these majestic fish! So cool!

I appreciate you stopping by!

Brian

Sort:  

Fishing on the ocean isn't really easy rather costly but very enjoyable. I have never get a chance for fishing on Ocean but I enjoy Ocean fishing at Discovery Channel many times.

Yup i also like fishing.

Welcome.
I am a Fish-bot that supports fishing posts.
Thank you for publishing the post and use of the myhuntingfishing,fishing or pl-wedkarstwo tag, which I rewarded with "upvote".
If you care about the development of this bot, all you need is to like this comment, and the power of this fish-bot will grow. Thank you
Witaj.
Jestem Rybo-botem wspierającym tag pl-wedkarstwo i myhuntingfishing
Dziękuje Ci za opublikowanie posta i użycia tagu pl-wedkarstwo lub myhuntingfishing oraz fishing, który nagrodziłem "upvoutem". Jeśli będzie Ci zależało na rozwoju tego rybo-bota wystarczy byś w rewanżu "upwoutował" czyli polubił ten komentarz a moc tego rybo-bota będzie rosła. Dziękuje
Добро пожаловать
Я рыба-бот, который поддерживает рыболовные посты.Спасибо за Ваше сообщение и использование тегов pl-wedkarstwo, fishing или myhuntingfishing который является наградой «upvoutem ». Если вы заботитесь о развитии этого рыцаря, все, что вам нужно сделать, это «взволноваться» в матче-реванше, то есть, как этот комментарий, и сила этого fisboot будет увеличиваться. спасибо

977ed90d51b801891e07b99740d68a9e.gif

I hope you get to do it sometime. I can see how you wouldn't want to pay $200 just for a boat ride. Although, on a hot summer day, there's nothing better than trolling around a lake on a party barge! Ha ha.

Just recently got the fishing bug, the thought of catching so huge and stunning at this stage is nothing but a dream. Just happy with the small catches I am managing so far.

One day, just one day... :)

Nice pic btw

Friday Fishing Is Interesting Moment. I am filling very happy on this time.

Excellent place my dear and beautiful ocean. I love ocean

@brian.rrr, Fishing activities are not just giving fun to fans. By fishing, individuals can feel a good aura for body health.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64432.28
ETH 2648.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78