Friday Fishing: Bass Thumb

in #fishing6 years ago

The true sign of a successful day of bass fishing is what I call “bass thumb”. Here is a picture of a bass thumb, though I wish it came out a little more clear:

6216A811-A380-4F9B-94D2-31C76A00E563.jpeg

Largemouth, smallmouth and striped bass have tiny little teeth, which end up being like sandpaper on your thumb. The proper way to hold a bass is by the mouth (not overextending it though), so as not to wipe the slime off their body.

535B2FBB-F4FE-47A6-894A-488F1E1D683F.jpeg

Since you pick up a bass by the mouth and it is like sandpaper, the more fish you catch, the more your thumb gets scuffed up… thus “Bass Thumb”!

I generally catch and release all largemouth and smallmouth bass, and handling them by the mouth does not hurt or harm them at all. However, besides snapping a picture or two, my other favorite way of remembering the fish is to look at my thumb for the next week or so until the bass thumb disappears!

Good luck getting your own bass thumb!

Brian

Sort:  

That is a great catch @brian.rr I always wanted to fish too and cook it by broiling over coals. It is not possible now.

Thanks for stopping by my friend. I hope you are hanging in there and enjoying life to the best extent you can... take care!

Looks like I will need the luck. Though I have been catching more bass lately I have never experienced bass thumb. I'll have to work on that!

Really you have caught a beautiful fish. Looks like you have caught it from the beautiful lake. Hope you enjoy the awesome fishing moment. I always appreciate your Friday fish adventure.

I haven't had a case of bass thumb for a long time. When I was a kid we spent a week in Ontario and would end up with no thumb print after the first day.

how are you friend?i know you doing alots of fish every friday.i am waiting your fishing story.its alltime excellent.i like your high quality skills.its appreciating me.really you catch very big one nice fish today.. i hope that,you enjoy your good day with your catch fish and i hope you making a good meal curry of fish.because its very delicious and healthy..obviously i think we are best parents in the world.because alltime doing proper take care and good teaching give your children.have a nice day.just awesome fish you catch today.i like your story..thanks to sharing alots of for your good moments with us.. its very good experience of me..all the best.take care yourself and best of luck of your great work.may god bless you.my blessing alltime with you and your family. my dear friend.. @brian.rrr

I live this!! I never thought to call it that but I have had my share of Bass thumb. It must have been a successful day. Is there ever a bad day fishing? Lol

How interesting this information about fishing, I had no idea what it meant.
@calitoo

Depends on if you hold the fish with your hand or a towel

Wao sir you are a good fisher.....and you are so handsome....very big fish...i love to eat fish very much....fish is my favrite dish.... ohooo and sad to see your is damage..... Thanks for sharing..

I always love your great fishing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59944.92
ETH 2307.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48