Taking The Boys To The Local Fishing Hole – Part I

in #fishing8 years ago

Hi, I have already introduced myself, but I would like to add that I own the blog at MyHuntingFishing.com and I am o-fish-ally going to begin blogging on Steemit. I see an amazing amount of potential here!

I am the real deal. Just compare my Steemit picture below

to my photo on the about page at MyHuntingFishing.com. Of course this one was taken a few years ago.

Same goofy mug. It’s all I have to work with.

Maybe I should re-watch that makeup tutorial posted by guerrint

But first, let’s get on with the fish story!

This time of year the days are long here in the Great Northwest. It gets dark around 9:30. The long days give me time to take my kids fishing after work. The time I spend with them at the pond adds a lot of enjoyment to my life.

The last hour of sunlight is especially magical with the orange glow of the setting sun silhouetting the trees.
The air begins to cool and the still water provides a perfect reflection of the surrounding beauty. Everything feels good and right.

My son’s cry of glee and the excitement on his face puts a smile on mine. He is addicted to fishing! He wants me to take him every day.

This year wasn’t going to be like other years. We are fishing hard and fishing often. We have fished and fished and fished.

The key has been our discovery of the exceptional fishing in some of our local ponds, which are within a five 5-10 minute drive from our house.

We have caught a variety of fish, including rainbow trout, bluegill, green sunfish, and largemouth bass.

On one particularly blessed evening, I was busy dabbing my fly in the water in front of a large bluegill that I could see swimming just off shore. My oldest son was casting a Rooster Tail spinner.

I suddenly heard an exclamation of excitement! I wasn't sure what was going on, but I looked over and saw him reeling in a fish with a look of surprise and wonder on his face. He obviously had a good fish on!

I quickly made my way over to his side and started trying to coach him on what to do to get the big bass out of the water without loosing him.

My coaching wasn't needed. I watched proudly as my son skillfully beached the large bass. I reached down and picked up the big fish by the mouth, just like the pros do on TV.

I was so proud of my son and totally amazed at his luck. I had never caught a fish this big at any of the local ponds.

We quickly snapped a few photos and released the beautiful bass back into the water so he would live to see another day.

It was so awesome to have this experience with my son.

Tight Lines!

Sort:  

"We quickly snapped a few photos and released the beautiful bass back into the water so he would live to see another day."

Glad to hear that!

It was the right thing to do!

Is that big one a rainbow trout? Awesome that your getting the kids out so early!

I fish in New Hampshire mostly for largemouth bass & striped bass

https://steemit.com/fishing/@jbouchard12/fishing-report-7-4-16

A few pics from 2 weeks ago. I look forward to checking out your website!

It is a steelhead, which is basically a rainbow trout that is hatched in a river, travels to the ocean and then back up the same river to spawn and die (or if it is lucky, it survives enough to go for another trip back to the ocean). In other words, it is an anadromous fish like a salmon.

I will gladly check out your fishing posts!

anadromous - you learn something new everyday!