An Evening of Fishing With The Kiddos

in #fishing7 years ago

Yesterday evening my wife had a to-do list that was about a half a mile long so I decided to go fishing and get the kids out from under her feet.  I know...I know...being a dad is so difficult sometimes, but someone has to do it :-)  We arrived at James A. Reed Conservation Area and headed to our favorite "lake."  There are several ponds scattered throughout this place just south of 50 highway near Lee's Summit, Missouri, but we love to fish at Coot Lake.  

This decision proved to be a good one.  The fish (mainly channel catfish) were biting like there was no tomorrow!  It never fails however, that Cody finds a way to catch a record number of small fish while we are out.  Below is one of his many little crappie.

  

Next is a photo of one of the smallest catfish of the night caught by my daughter Emilee.

As the evening wore on we continued to catch fish after fish selectively choosing the best ones to take home for our future dinners.   As I made my way about the dock I couldn't help but notice the moon reflecting in the water so of course I had to take a picture.  Unfortunately the iPhone camera doesn't do the beauty of this scene much justice, but I did add the photo into this post.

I am a sucker for sunset photos and couldn't help but to snap a couple of shots from last nights evening scenery.

We had a wonderful time in the outdoors together taking home a total of nine catfish which my daughter helped prepare for the freezer.  I feel that our children should learn how to take care of themselves in every way possible.  Fortunately Emilee is somewhat a tomboy and doesn't mind getting right into the mix of things.

If you have enjoyed this fishing post please remember to comment, upvote, resteem & follow @backrdadventures!

"Back Roads Adventures"

Sort:  

Fun post and awesome sunset photos especially imprissive being phone shots. And what's with girls named Emilee \Emily being Tom boys? Here is my tomboy Emily with her catfish she caught yesterday

image

I bet it has something to do with their dad's lol

It might....lol
Looks like you're teaching her right....
Thanks for checking out my post!

Cool as can be and that sunset was soooo mellow.

Looks like you guys had a real "rough" day :)


Not gonna lie. My newest post is pretty weird.

Oh... it was rough....lol
Thanks for checking out my post!

No prob! It's an enjoyable read.

Hey there, I’m curious what bait you are using to catch the catfish. Worms?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63476.83
ETH 3413.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50