A Missouri Record Crappie - Well.....Almost!

in #fishing7 years ago (edited)

A few weeks ago my son and daughter stayed with my parents during the day while my wife and I were at work.  Of course grandpa decided to take the two of them fishing at James A. Reed Memorial Wildlife Area.  While my son Dakota was catching numerous smaller sized fish, my daughter was not catching a thing.  However, her luck was about to change.....

As I was told grandpa Roberts was fiddling around with his fishing gear and Emilee decided to drop her minnow baited hook into the water just off the dock.  She waited for a few minutes and her pole began to bend from the pressure of a hooked fish.....She had finally gotten a bite and what a surprise it was going to be!  As she pulled the fish from the water the three of them couldn't believe what they were seeing - a monster crappie.

After the fish had been landed successfully my dad called me and told me to get on Facebook and take a look at his most recent post.  I asked him what it was and he answered "Just get on there and take a look.  You'll never believe it!"  At first glance I thought I was looking at a decent bass, but as I continued looking I noticed I was wrong....This was a monster crappie!

Upon having the good folks down at the Department of Conservation do the official weight and measurement of this fish it was found to be a little shy of the state record.  The crappie officially measured 15.8" long and weighed in at 2 pounds!  Guess I've been teaching her right ;-)  That is definitely bigger than any crappie I've ever caught!

If you've enjoyed this little fish story and would like to see more of them, please upvote this post and comment below.

Also be sure to check out BackRoadsAdventures.com

Oh....and don't forget to follow me @backrdadventures

Sort:  

Congratulations @backrdadventures! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great catch.

Thank you!
She was really proud of that one...of course I was a bit jealous.....lol

Good story.
Nice catch, kiddo! 🎣 😃

Thank you!
I am blessed to have two children who love the outdoors!

Same. 😉 😃

Thats HUGE!!

Nice fish. Congrats to your daughter. I thought the pic was a bass too.

Atta girl! Man, that makes me MISS HOME!!! High five from a native transplanted to Idaho :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63283.09
ETH 2463.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54