Beautiful scenes for the first fishing trip of the season.

in #fishing6 years ago

There are many folk who are apposed to fishing and I do get the point(no pun intended). But fishing doesn't always have to be about catching fish and it is one of the most primitive things to do in life. Human-Being catches fish...Simple and pretty natural, even for most vegetarians.

The way I choose to fish is now classed as a sport, but that phase is sooo misleading. My 3 fishing pals are certainly not here to compete, well not seriously. Banter is always good, but we celebrate a catch on any rod and we just aim to catch the next 'BIG-FISH'

I am proud to say that I am the current holder of the Big-Carp record and it stands at a whopping 28.5Lbs!

Here take a look

dan pb 28.5lb.jpg

This monster was caught about 5-years ago, at Skegness, UK and still holds the record. We have since gone onto trying to catch larger Catfish, as they tend to grow up to be much much bigger. Hopefully this year I will get to go to a place named Wisbeck, also in the UK and this fishery stock incredibly large Catfish, some approaching 150Llb!!!!

"We're gonna need a bigger boat"

For the first session of the season, it was just me and my best-bud and we chose to night-fish a local pond at a place called Hemmington. There are 4 or 5 lakes and we chose to night-fish at the specimen lake. As I told my friend on the night, "If I am going to be woken up in the middle of the night, I want it to be for something bigger than a Cornish Pastie"

In the end the lake was a bust and we left empty handed around 10:00am the next morning. However the attempt was not totally fruitless, as I did manage to get this spectacular picture in the morning.

DSC07291.JPG

We had planned to do this as the lake next-door is teeming with average sized carp. Also, the day was set to be a very hot one and the other lake is great for fishing with bread, on-top of the water. This is a very active way to fish and sharp reflexes are key to landing a fish on this type of bait.

Unfortunately for me, I have the reactions of a stoner and with good reason too. Along with catching fish, eating junk, drinking beer and generally having a laugh, we also partake in smoking some quality Ganja. Strawberry Kush, to be precise. Mmmmm Strawberries....

After a great session fishing on the new lake, we both managed to bag a few fishies. My friend is a master at fishing with bread and I don't mind admitting that. I was very pleased with the accuracy of my casting, so I did have some positives to take away from the experience, plus a sore head and sunburn.

DSC07294.JPG

Unlike myself, Tony's casting wasn't as accurate on the day, but I got the feeling he preffered the big fish, over a good cast any day(lol. And I said we weren't competitive...)

Fetching it back again...

DSC07293.JPG

All in all, we had a great trip and can't wait for the next one. Next time we will have my Poppa-Bear along with us and the team will be at full strength. Obviously, my dad does not partake in all of the rituals, but he is a cool dude and just does his own thing(Cider & Cooking).

Until then, I will leave you with a few random pics from the weekend trip.

Peace to you and yours.

All fish in this post were given counseling and a free meal before they were returned to the water.

Homemade Boilies and they were a success! This is gonna save us a fortune!!

DSC07269.JPG

But what will Tony choose...?

DSC07272.JPG

Home for the night

DSC07286.JPG

Morning mist on the lake

DSC07289.JPG

Time to go home...

DSC07279.JPG

DSC_0432 (2).jpg

Come find me on the smartsteem whitelist, were quality content is rewarded.

Also, please come support my new music track that I have entered into the #getarecord competition, ran by @seveaux through his @sma community project on discord and steemit.

sma banner.png

Sort:  

Dude, I love to fish, it's not all about catching the fish for me but getting some man time with some friends and getting a way from the family for some relaxation.

If you ever come up sheffield way at any time hit me up and I'll take you to the ponds I go to. spend a day out in the sun.

Thanks buddy, I will take you up on that one day. Need to get my car back on the road and then it's all good. Fishing is the past-time of kings mate :) No better way to relax(Unless we start pissing about with each others alarms in the middle of the night. lol)

haha, done that before, I once tied my mates line around a tree post and rang his alarm, he was pulling on it like it was the biggest fish he had ever caught haha.
it was so funny because he was a little drunk and it was the fight of his life. he was so pissed of when the line snapped.
he tells people that the braking strain of his line is a stupid amount and it still broke that. I still haven't told him to this day. :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-16T13:10:33
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 21.70/100.00
Total Photos: 4
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81