The Cure for Writer's Block...or is it?

in #firstpost6 years ago (edited)

I have finally decided to take the flurry of ideas and thoughts that scatter my brain and put them to good use. I never thought about actually "writing" and being serious about the amount of articles, stories and books that I put out. Now that I have begun I believe I stumbled upon the cure for writer's block. Not to mention that I can reach that adult side of me who requires everything to be organized and maintained. No slacking here.

The hardest part has been focusing on 'where' to start. I created this steemit account 1 year ago and I am finally posting my first "read." It's not easy putting yourself out there for your peers to become judge and jury over your every thought, idea and opinion. I commend those of you who have the ability to shut off the criticism and move forth with your words.

Now about that writer's block...

IMG_4655.jpeg

I have noticed the world of writing has become a cache for repeats and click bait. Individual ideas that are original seem to be fading and you have to work extremely hard to find something to read that hasn't already been done before. Maybe it's life experience that is accumulating and keeping me from seeing the world with a childish awe but I find myself avoiding media and mainstream movies because they just echo the last guy. Give me something new. Stop making the same films repeatedly and please, please, please stop the almost plagiarizing of your repeated news articles.

My brain doesn't shut off and I am constantly thinking of new things. I can't really explain how these things come to me but when they do I write them down and try to remember to utilize them later. I have been jotting down book ideas, phrases and sudden creations for the last several years and I am always saying, "One day I will get to focus on how to focus on how to get that started." Now I don't know if it's because I have sooooo much to catch up on but I have not stopped writing for the last 2 weeks and I have to drag myself away from it to do pretty much anything else.

The cure? I know this has been working great for me but maybe I am the anomaly in the mix. Maybe this will not work for others who do not have an active brain that doesn't relent. What I have found to keep my brain chugging has simply been variety. I have 4 projects going as of right now. Depending on how I feel (or who I am today) I can focus on whatever suites me. If I stop having creative ideas I move on to another project and start editing and moving things around and coming up with other ideas.

I do have these days where I feel like a complete and utter dumbass. I stutter my words and can't grasp the ideas I am looking for. When I try to speak intellectually I have no flow and being aware of this I forget where I was headed in the first place. I have learned to keep to myself on those days...

So maybe my idea of putting a little variety into your writing will help some of you avoid the block. Hopefully my recommendation will help others achieve more clever and well written quantities of work. The least I can do with my first post on steemit is to help someone else think "outside the box."

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit! I look forward to more interesting posts from you! And cat pictures!

✅ Enjoy the vote! For more amazing content, please follow @themadcurator for a chance to receive more free votes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60913.22
ETH 2643.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58