STEEMIT FIRST IMPRESSIONS

in #firstimpressions6 years ago

Introduction

Some initial thoughts on my steemit journey

Interface for posting

I was pretty impressed with the posting screen, especially the way you get a real time final version below the input window.
The final post has a nice clean style to it as well, reminiscent of google+

High engagement

I was pleasantly surprised by the warm response and many comments to my first post , I had heard about a young vibrant community and it rings true.
This contrasts to other places where starting a conversation is very hard, for instance in my short time on instagram I've noticed the hit and run nature of interactions (other places are like this as well).
I think that this is just an result of how society is in general.

Potential pitfall

When first encountering steemit (and D-tube) people are immediately drawn to the dollar values under posts and the whole economy of it.
I think a lot of people (initially myself included) start having visions of success and making lots of money (which is fine).

An inner motivation of gain (or placating dire needs) can jump to the forefront blinding us to other things, we essentially become unbalanced in our views.

Unbalance brings unrealistic expectations, which sets us up for (unneeded) disappointment.
This was echoed in some negative comments that I read about steemit.

There are two aspects that can be lost in transit:

  1. To create anything requires lots of (intelligent) effort and even that is no guarantee of success – I've seen many youtube channels that put out great content yet struggle to get ahead eventually they stop uploading.
    steemit is an economic system (as andrew lavine described it) and different from other platforms, but the same principles of growth apply.

  2. The whole social side to things.
    I think that going in with pure gain on the mind leads to spamming and generally annoying people.
    This behavior will poison potential relationships and to my mind is dishonest (which people pick up on).

Creating great things and trying to help others is the better path, which in the long run (I think) will be more profitable.
This is not to say that you throw out business thinking – balance is the key.

current strategy

I've been able to better understand my approach to this platform better now that I'm using it.

To my mind the crypto currency side is a serious undertaking that requires knowledge and skill that I don't currently have, so for now I see this as a place to showcase my tshirs, post memes ,connect with people and write about things.

I enjoy creating memes and have incorporated them into my somewhat passive marketing strategy.
memes are incredibly powerful if well crafted and used effectively.

I enjoy writing as well,simplifying concepts into elegant yet easy to understand sentences is a great challenge, with great rewards.

Well that concludes this instalment, I'm sure my view and use will change as I learn more.

thank you for reading

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42