Just introducing myself to steem

in #firstimer8 years ago

  Hello there steemers [I think that’s the term around here???:)???]. Today I came across steem just because of pure luck, and instantly loved it here. 

P#ssy Disclaimer ALERT! … This is my first post, just hope not the last one XD. Also English is not my native language [as you probably already realized], so try to be nice with this guy over here, I promise to do my best [grammatically and conceptually]. 

I’m still trying to figure out what to write about since I have several hobbies and different interests [maybe I will write about all of them]. But thought in starting with cryptocurrency [cryptoC from now on], since that’s why I got here, by reading a story around the hard fork that happened with ETH and the battle with ETC written by @whalepanda [good job there mate, really enjoyed the post. Here is the link to it in case you are into cryptC: this is a link to another dimension

Well, in this case I just want to share some info about what’s going on with CryptoCs in my region: I live in Uruguay [3.5 M population in case you wonder, and no, we are not Paraguay :p] where this type of currency is not well known, heck, is not known at all if you ask me. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think of myself as someone special or similar [like a CryptoC evangelist], but I do work in a technology company where you would expect a significant number of people know or at least have heard about it, but heck no! Only if I had a Bytecoin [BCN] each time I got a weird look after talking about any CryptoC…well I still be poor as hell because BCN is trading at 0.00000008 since ever! Anyway, you got my point. 

So, I thought in starting to promote CryptoCs in general, as a good way to diversify your investment portfolio and also play around with trading and new technologies. I won't say this is a success story, because from a company of around 900 people 7 are now interested in CryptoC, buuuuuuut, it’s a start. Whish me luck for the near future :/ I will try to keep you up to speed with the development of this story.

  Going a little bit further in the near Argentina, home of Maradona, Messi and last but not least, the Rolingas [check this to know more about them] some guys create a site called Satoshi Tango to buy and sell Bitcoins [BTC] using local currency; and this service is available for Uruguay, Argentina, Brazil, Mexico, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama and Peru, which is kinda cool, I used it only once and it worked fine, and also think it's a very good way to promote CryptoCs in the region. In addition, if you are visiting Buenos Aires, you can go to AntiDomingo Bar and use the only BTC ATM in Argentina [Skyhook ATM], i'm not sure if the pizza is any good, but at least you can pay it with bitcoins. Let me tell you something else about the good guys from Argentina; they created an Argentinian Coin: BitARS using the Bitshare platform, although I haven’t seen it in the most popular exchanges [if you do let me know, I’m interested in seeing how it behaves]. 

In case you are in the mood for warmer weather, jogo bonito and caipirinha [a very alcoholic and good party starter drink], you might think about Sao Paulo, Brazil. Precisely around FIAP, a technology and innovation center, perfect fit for a Genesis Coin ATM. Keep and eye in Brazil for 2016 and BTC, since seems merchants are trying to adopt this Crypto as a trading option [as per Michael Dunworth, Snapcard CEO]

[All ATM information brought to you by coinATMradar]

  You can conclude so far, that CryptoCs are not heavily adopted in the region; but that’s not what I meant. In my opinion CryptoC’s related technology is far behind other regions like EMEA or NA; but CryptoCs adoption is rising high [although not where I work lol]. If you look below chart from bitpay, transactions increase 510% from 2014 to 2015, I just hope as a CryptoC enthusiast it keeps this trend and more and more opportunities and technologies arise here, so we truly become a global community.  

[source: news.bitcoin.com]

Sorry if this was a long post, I just got carried away with the excitement of my very first steem post. Feel free to comment, any positive feedback is more than welcome.

Next time I might write more about CryptoCs, but I bought myself a wicked cool b-day gift [The almighty self-bought b-day gift] so I just might write about my first treasure adventure with it, how cool is that!?!?!?!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14