Painting Landscapes, Still Lifes, and Portraits... my humble begining.

in #first7 years ago (edited)

After watching 1000 hours of Bob Ross over the years, I finally decided to tackle the medium of painting. I am relatively familiar with art (sculpture and photography), but not experienced in painting. So, I am teaching myself through online tutorials and talking with other painters locally and on the internet.

Here's my plan. Paint landscapes until I get good. Then, move on to still lifes...lives?..you know, piles of inanimate objects... until I'm comfortable with my abilities. Then, I'll move on to portraits and maybe some animals. I consider this to be the best way to move forward as the difficulty moves up the ladder in my mind and ability...ie. landscapes (relatively easy) to portraits (hard).

Follow me if you want to see my progress through the days and weeks and months. My goal is to paint a combined landscape-still life-portrait by April 1st. (The Magician Tarot Card) Until then I will be regularly posting my paintings with a rough explanation and links to a few time-lapse videos of the process.

So here is my very first completed landscape: IMG_6498.JPG

It is acrylic on canvas measuring 11" tall by 16" wide. Any feedback, or criticism is welcome.

~Cheers, Mark Sarte.

Sort:  

Congratulations @paintedevolution! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hey! Thanks steemitboard, Cheers.

This painting is quite soothing to the eyes. I remember watching Bob Ross as an 8 year old at my grandmas house now he's a legend!

Wow, that's cool.

~Please verify original content @OriginalWorks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58906.05
ETH 2666.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44