fireworks are more than pretty loud sparks

in #fireworks6 years ago (edited)

394ca30a-fce0-4432-9643-c19af50d4e7c.jpeg


I spent the 4th of July with friends from Belgium, France, and Switzerland. They ALL knew about cryptocurrency and had investments on all sorts of coins. They gave my friend and me a primer on the different wallets they used. And A suggested that I check out https://cryptopanic.com for crypto news.

No one had any real interest in seeing fireworks.

JNET: "I have the convertible top down and love fireworks. I'm hoping to catch a show before heading home."

M: "I grew up on Lake Geneva. What you have here is nothing. Anyway, I saw fireworks in Disneyland a couple days ago."

M pulled up videos of Lake Geneva on his device. I was impressed and finally understood why he would always shrug off at all mentions of fireworks. I told him I wanted to visit Switzerland someday for fireworks and then excused myself and my friend so that we could catch some 4th of July sparkly..

M took me to the Jennifer Hudson concert a couple days after. He asked if I was able to find a spot to watch 4th of July fireworks when we sat down to a post concert dinner.

JNET: "Yes! Warner Bros Studio had a show. We parked up with a bunch of people at the front gate. It was awesome!"

He gave that look again, the one I've seen over the years, that showed me he didn't understand my love for fireworks and the 4th of July. The look asked WHY????

When I get married, I want it to be on the 4th of July. I want fireworks and celebrate the day with my favorite people; a holiday that most will have off work and there won't be too much competition with major sports. Most holidays are celebrated with family or close friends. But the 4th of July is a community holiday, a holiday where you look at someone not as a stranger but rather a neighbor and celebrate experiencing something beautiful together.

Placing all politics aside, it doesn't matter what party you're registered. It doesn't matter what your creed or nationality is. When you come out for July 4th in America to watch fireworks, you're simply a neighbor. Maybe you share food or drink and become friends. When it gets dark and the show begins, you're part of the chorus of oooooohs and aaaaahs. You see kids with their parents and you remember that was you with your family when you were little.

Next to Christmas, July 4th is my favorite holiday.

I think M finally understood.

I hope you had a fantastic 4th of July.

JNET


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by JNET from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75