Carrying A Full Size Handgun

in #firearms6 years ago

I always get a cocked eye brow or a side smile that precedes a smart mouth comment after I tell someone I carry a Beretta 92FS. Otherwise known by its nom de guerre, the M9 was the firearm I cut my teeth on as a young ensign in the Navy. I’ve burned thousands of rounds down the Italian steel barrel, but I surprisingly went another route when I purchased my first handgun. There is a saying that a griping sailor is a happy sailor. Sailors love to gripe about their firearms. I should know, because I griped about mine. So much so that there are two specific makers that I will no longer shoot or purchase. But Beretta is not one of them.

​I mistakenly took some of this good natured griping that compared the M9 to various other pistols currently in service and decided on buying another brand with a polymer frame. I soon regretted this purchase. Even though I purchased a compact version of this particular firearm I found it too small, the magazine capacity was not sufficient, and I did not care for the trigger safety. There was nothing wrong with the pistol’s functionality and design. It operated exactly as it was supposed to. Many people rave about this particular firearm, but it just wasn’t right for me. Sounds like a break up letter, right?

just not.jpg

At my earliest convenience, I went back to my old standby. I quickly traded my polymer frame pistol for the 92FS I carry today. Shooting it was like the first home cooked meal you eat after moving out of the house at 18. It’s a bit bulky and I only recently found a holster that I can conceal carry at the 4 o’clock position. Until now, I could only conceal carry at the 6 o’clock because, let’s face it, the 92FS is a brick.

brick-generic.jpg

My pants don’t fit normally unless I have it tucked in my waist band. But I’ve never had a problem keeping my drawers up wearing a normal leather belt. While driving, I usually keep it under the seat as it can be uncomfortable keeping it in the small of the back. There is consensus across the armed citizen community that there is a certain level of discomfort when you choose to carry. Some of this discomfort can be mitigated, some can’t. Right now I’m comfortable with carrying my Beretta as it is with the holster that balances comfort, concealability, and accessibility. Shake out your gear, practice with it, and find out what works for you and what doesn’t.

I’ll be the first to admit I’m not adventurous, I usually stick with what I know I like. But I have been testing other steel frame pistols that are lighter, a bit smaller, and still hold ammunition levels that I am comfortable with. There will come a day when my 92FS will get upgraded with a light and find a permanent home in my nightstand, but for now I’ve made accommodations necessary for carrying a full size hand gun. It can be done, but only if it’s right for you. Your match is out there. You just have to find it.

92fs.png
twu-wuv.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59428.91
ETH 2657.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50