DI or Piston AR-15? Maybe it doesn't matter for you

in #firearms7 years ago (edited)

For my first Steemit blog, I figured I would attempt to inform some people about the differences in Direct Gas Impingement AR-15s vs Gas Piston AR-15s, and why for the average shooter, it doesn't really matter which system you choose to use. For those wondering where I get my information from in this post, I am and have been an avid AR-15 shooter for the past several years, and in that time I have well versed myself in the workings of the rifle. While I am by no means an expert, I would consider myself to be very knowledgeable on the weapon system.

Direct Impingement:
()

For those that do not know, the majority of AR-15s operate with a Direct Impingement gas system, meaning that gas traveling down the barrel behind the bullet is pushed up through a hole in the barrel, travels down a small diameter tube, and pushes back the bolt carrier, cycling the weapon and loading another round. This has proven to be a good system for the rifle for most users. Some complain however, that the DI system lacks dependability, and in fact, gives the rifle a higher chance of jamming. While this sentiment may hold true if someone is throwing their rifle in mud and filling it with dirt, the DI system is overall a very good gas cycling system. Below I will list some of the pros and cons of the Direct Impingement system

Pros:
Lightweight
Inexpensive
Cons:
Susceptible to jamming because of dirt and mud (uncommon for the average shooter)
Tends to make cleaning the rifle harder due to blowing gas and carbon back into the main area of both recievers
Not great for using a suppressor with the weapon, suppressor creates extra blowback thus getting the rifle dirtier when run with DI

Now for the Piston Driven system.

()

I actually own a very prominent gas piston driven rifle, the AK-47. The system is one of the main reasons why the rifle can be run over by a humvee and still operate... well that and the rifle is just a freaking tank. I was very interested when I first saw an AR-15 outfitted with a piston driven system. Without doing much research, I became a fanboy of the system, thinking that it was the way of future AR-15s and that certainly DI would just be a thing of the past within the coming years. As history would show, I was wrong, but piston AR-15s are still prominent in the gun world. I would say the claim to fame of the piston AR would be the fact that they are much easier to clean than DI AR-15s, the reason being that the gas goes into the same hole in the barrel, but instead of the gas pushing the bolt back itself, the gas pushes a rod that then pushes the bolt back, minimizing the gas and gunk that travels into the rest of the rifle. This also minimizes the risk of the gun jamming because of the fact that it is very hard for dirt and gunk to interfere with the cycling system, the reason being that there isn't a hollow tube for dirt and mud to clog up, just a rod. Below I will list the pros and cons of the piston system:

Pros:
Very reliable
Easy to clean
Great for suppressed shooting
Cons:
Much more expensive than DI
Heavier
Parts do not match DI AR-15s, and therefore would prove more difficult to find parts if you needed them immediately

Overall, both systems are great. DI has gotten a bit of criticism in the past due to its Vietnam War beginnings, but in recent years has proven it is in it for the long haul. While I would love to someday acquire a piston AR, it is not a need for me, and unless I have an extra wad of cash laying around when I buy my next rifle, I'll probably stick with DI. As for any of you on the fence about which system to pick, if you have owned AR-15s before and want something new, try the piston! If you are new to the AR-15 world, I would highly suggest buying or building a DI AR-15. For the most part, the average shooter won't be running 50k rounds through their rifle and most of the time, they wont be dropping it in pools of mud.

Before I close out this article, let me again state that I do not consider myself an expert on the rifle, however I do know what I am talking about! Let me know how you feel about both systems in the comments, and if you have any other questions about guns in general, I could be of help! I'm sure this wont be the last time I post something like this!

Make sure to upvote, feel free to follow, and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64432.28
ETH 2648.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78