Burn!

in #fire7 years ago

There is no other smell proclaiming winter in the South African interior as much as that of grass (veld) fires. Honestly this has not been much of a winter, but the winds have picked up ahead of a cold front, prompting fire warnings for our region today...and I can smell them. Will today be the day for the veld around our home? The photos below were taken last weekend, across the road from our home. Due to the lack of wind the fire was very gentle.


Thank you for reading! @onetree

Sort:  

Good photography. I posted on that friend of mine who lost his Bike collection in a fire. This Bakkie I bought recently sight unseen , could make you think you had driven into a dense Veld fire for the first minute after I pull away! Creates it's own camouflage! ( or blackout area)

Ouch....for both the bikes and your sight unseen bakkie!

Hi @onetree. Love the pics, stay safe my friend!

South Africa is very beautiful country. This country is tip for visitors. Many people comes in this region.

Thank you!

Hey fellow south african :D Yeah fires are kak. I was recently hospitalised for burns. not fun. Thanks for the awesome post!

Oh dear, that sounds awful. Was it from fighting fires?

In my home yes D: Must always be extra careful! Followed :)

Thank you abd also followed. 😎

I always keep an eye out for fires, I have been caught on the road on two occasions in the midst of fires. Luckily I escaped unharmed, though in one instance I drove into the back of a parked vehicle the smoke was so dense I could not see it.

I remember that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64