Finnish For Foreigners: Kukkahattutäti

in #finnish6 years ago

Image Credit

Kukkahattutäti literally means flower-hatted auntie. In colloquial speech it refers to a person - nearly always a woman - who publicly dishes out moralistic, often naive advice to other people or tells other people how they should live.

The term Kukkahattutäti most likely originates in hats typically worn by upper middle class or upper middle class ladies of the 19th century. The temperance movement and the women's right movement were early bastions of kukkahattutädit. Does your language have an equivalent term?

Sort:  

THIS is where the english language lacks on! 😂

I really don't know an English language expression that means the same. There may be such expressions, though.

Hi markku. Mother in law springs to mind lol.

I think there isn't an equivalent term in my language for that, at least not that I'm aware of. But in latin america all the mothers tell their kids how they should live hahaha

Really here there is no term for that because simply that type of women is not here either. But there are the Jehovah's Witnesses, who are the only ones who sometimes wear hats a little strange.
I like your idea of ​​sharing colloquial terms and idioms of your region.

Interestingly, kukkahattutädit do not exist in Russia, either.

I suspect this phenomenon exists primarily in protestant northwestern Europe. Precisely the kind of elderly ladies I'm talking about have existed and continue to exist in the English-speaking world as well. I don't know about German-speaking countries, though.

The only thing I know about this type of hat is something I saw a few weeks ago when one of the princes of England was married. They said that all the women invited to the wedding had to wear these hats compulsorily. If they did not use it, it meant a lack of respect. David Beckhan's wife was invited and did not wear a hat, she was dressed in black, another offense that is not allowed at a royal wedding.

That is really interesting man...............Languages store the culture of the times they survive through. I am quite sure that some languages would have a similar word, but a lot of others wont.

Hi - This post has been upvoted by an in-development voting bot, which was created for a university project-work!
Please also leave a upvote for me, so that my votes will mean more in the future!

It isn't a very useful bot if its SP is 15...

That's why it wants upvotes. I'm under 70% so I need to take a little break from upvoting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00