Everything blue and white! Congratulations Finland

in #finland7 years ago

Today has been another good day and I have some things I wanted to share with you.

As I wrote in my post yesterday Finland had it's independence day today and it has been really great to see a lot of different people and countries celebrating it with us.


This morning I woke up to a text message that said:

"Today Finland celebrates 100 years of independence - Happy Birthday everybody!"

I read later that this was a congratulation message sent to every Finnish citizen. A pretty fun way to congratulate everyone.

I myself celebrated it at home and I actually had a lot of work to get done before the day was over so I didn't really have the time to go out anywhere but nearby places like the store. I wanted to go to the light show that was being held in my nearby city. But as I said yesterday some pictures will have to do for me.

The light show that was nearby actually turned out really great and I just found pictures of it online after only seeing other people posting photos on social media. In the city they chose to illuminate the "Turun Linna" which is an old castle and here is what it looks like now:



Image Source

Kinda feels bad I wasn't able to go seeing that it turned out this well. I guess there's always the 200 year anniversary, haha 😉

I did however get to relax in the sauna this evening and also drink a lot of "glögi"(mulled wine) and eat loads of chocolate.

I thought I would end this post with a very Finnish photo I stumbled upon while reading the articles today.


Image Source

It's spectators watching an Ice-Hockey match from inside a sauna in the "Hartwall Arena" Ice-hockey stadium. Must be the best seat in the building! 😁


Thank you to everyone that celebrated with us! If you were at one of the places where they illuminated something then please share in the comments!

I wish you all a good rest of the week and an awesome evening.

Peace out, Strawhat

SteemitStrawhat.jpg
Image Source

Sort:  

100 years ..wow )) congratulation ! One of the strongest democracy . And one of the most comfortable country ..

Oh, man. That light show on the castle looks pretty rad! Sorry you couldn't really go out and celebrate heavily, bud. Hanging out in a sauna and drinking doesn't sound like the worst thing to do though, haha! Hope you have a good rest of your week too, man.

Yeah it really looks great :D yeah me too but it ended up being pretty chill anyways! Thanks :)

wow, i really impressed, blue and white lighting design its awesome, Congratulations Finland

Thank you :3 i'm glad you liked it!

good post and nice topic sharing

Congratulation

Wow the city full of love and joy looks like you are enjoying every bit of it :D yay

Lol, can you even get more Finnish than watching ice hockey from a sauna 😂

Loved the artwork in the building i guess.It did made the image looked more beautiful and yep indeed A very happy birthday Finland again ;)
Celebrate it with love and peace :)

WOW Nice Post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63183.53
ETH 2643.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78