One of the Festivals I love in Finland is called ‘Vappu’ :D

in #finland6 years ago (edited)

Students good friend Vappu is almost here 😁. Vappu is celebrated every year on the 1st of May which marks the end of the winter (may be who knows about the Finnish weather ahaha :D :P). It is also celebrated as International Labour day and one of the biggest festivals of the year ? I don’t know if mid summer counts as the biggest or Vappu ?

0162537B-8E10-41B1-974A-478C0A18F4E6.jpeg

These pictures are from last year’s Vappu celebrations in Turku /Åbo , Finland. Usually festivities begin in Turku at 18:00 on 30th of April , when students will gather at the market square and by the hill where there’s an Art museum . It is also the biggest student festival of the year, bringing together tens of thousands of students and other citizens of Turku.

6F5E128A-DD25-4C3E-B3C2-9EFA185556E7.jpeg

The capping of the student caps is the best of vappu which you don’t wanna miss it, after the capping the vappu celebrations continues at 18:30 in the Runeberg Park. 3369B3A8-2F7C-49C3-B2FE-A46A2F9D292A.jpeg

And the following day 1st of May , people go to picnic with friends/families, eating traditional vappu meal and drinking some sparkling wine in the park .

BB3BB428-9A98-458B-A763-A4ED5313663E.jpeg

It’s me and Pragesh, so we didn’t got any cap so there were couple standing next to us , we asked them if we could borrow the cap for a minute for a picture . There were really nice and friendly couple , so for that favour I invited them for an Indian Dinner evening , I’m crazy ahaha, making friends randomly wherever I’m 🙈😅.

C649197A-DC48-4628-8376-9F24B16EAB6D.jpeg

So I don’t know how do they celebrate in other cities of Finland but in Turku , trust me it’s damn freaking awesome since it’s a student city ;) . So still there’s one more week if you wanna experience this cool Finnish festival that’s why I’m sharing this post :D .

so what are you waiting for , pack your bags to Finland :D

Hyvää vappu Kaikille 😍🎊🎊🎈🎈🤩

Stay tuned for more updates. Please feel free to upvote,comment,resteem. Your support is highly appreciated <3 #peaceout - Babu ✌️

#suomi #finland #finnishfestival #festival #colorful #vappu #vappu2018 #vappu2017 #mobilephotography #photography #europe #festivaltime #blogger #blogtime

Sort:  

I always though Northern countries we don't get to see many people in mobs like here in India, but I was wrong, So many people come together to enjoy Vappu. Good to learn so many things from you @sriz

Yes I was surprised too see many people as well on that day, felt like I'm in India ahahah :D. thanks man i am glad , highly appreciate it :)

Weather-wise the beginning of May is in the middle of the spring.

Yes, may be for Finns. but still I felt bit chill last year :P. I hope this year may be bit warmer that last year. As long as it doesn't rain on 30th April and 1st of May, I m happy :D

Sure, there is a lot of variation in Vappu weather from year to year. But the fact is that, on average, Vappu is close to the middle of the time period between when the snow starts melting and when the leaves on trees are fully or nearly fully grown. That period of time is called the spring here. There is no spring anywhere in India except for the very far north at high elevations.

The celebration of Vappu is quite huge in all of the student cities in Finland. For example, I live in Kuopio at the moment, and this whole week is dedicated to the celebration on Vappu. :D However, the largest happening will be on the 30th. Before I went to university I didn't know that students party all week prior to the actual event, since I come from a little town where Vappu is celebrated only on the 1st of May. It's kind of weird to be honest, but on the other hand, I love the atmosphere! :)
Have a great Vappu this year as well! :)

Yes May be but when I used to live in Kokkola (may be you heard/been there dont you?) there was not so much hype/festive environment but when I moved to Turku, I was surprised. But its nice to hear that everycity in the country celebrates in their own way :D. Oh really? I wonder which little town you are from? feel free to share the name of it if you want to so that i know if I ever been there or not yet :D. Kiitos Kiitos Jasmin. have a great vappu for you as well, If you haven't been to Turku yet for vappu, you should visit just to have an experience you know :). moro moro

I know where Kokkola is, but I've never been there. I'm from a little town called Huittinen, it's an hour drive from Turku to Huittinen, but I'm guessing you've never heard of my home town. :D

The contrast between small towns and student cities truly is humongous! Even I was surprised. :D Actually, I've never spent Vappu in Turku, but I do have a few friends studying there, so maybe I'll come there to celebrate one year! :)

I haven’t been to Huittinen yet, the closest was Aura 😅, but would like to go there if there’s something to see around in your hometown since the days are getting better you know :D , you’re welcome to Turku , I hope you visit Turku to celebrate vappu by the time your friends graduate :D . Anyhow have a nice vappu , Enjoy your day :)

I'm sorry to say this, but there isn't much to see in my hometown. 😅
You too have a nice day! :)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60216.66
ETH 2326.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48