You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Learning Finnish: WordDive

in #finland6 years ago (edited)

Hello Anton. One great thing about learning a small language is that its native speakers are usually happy to hear someone is learning it. I've noticed that even in case of English. American English has the largest number of native speakers and Americans usually find most other variants of English completely non-threatening and even endearing. I have chosen to use British English as my default choice. I've met English people who've commended that choice because from what I've heard, American English is slowly making inroads into British vernacular as well which has been known to make some people a little uncomfortable there.

Now, I'd be happy to be your guide to the Finnish language and I'd be delighted if you could advise me on how English is used in your neck of the woods. You're Scottish and live in the Highlands? Do you speak Scottish Gaelic, too?

Joo, drinkki maistuu silloin tällöin. Asut maailman parhaiden viskitislaamoiden vieressä, joten toivottavasti maistuu sinullekin. :)

Sort:  

Hi Markku. Very happy to trade advice on languages. Sorry it took me a while to get back to you, last week I had suddenly a lot to do in response to a job application for work in Lahti. I think it went well, but I was very busy with that and had little time for steem until this weekend. Just waiting now for their decision.

I do need to clarify that whilst I currently live in Scotland, I did not grow up here and my accent is mostly a strange mix of English regions rather than Scottish. Also, the highlands, where I live, tends to have a very soft accent compared to urban regions of Scotland.

As for Gaelic, I do not speak it, although I have picked up on some words and phrases.

Minä juon enemmän kahvia kuin cocktaileja. Minä pidan viskiä, ​​mutta
odotan innolla Suomalaiset juomat.

Incidentally, I love that Google mistranslated 'distillery' as 'whirlwinds' in your sentence! My Finnish is improving but I still need tools like sanakirja and google translate to help get endings right. Begun learning the KPT rules and strong and weak forms etc, but still have a lot to learn. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61821.21
ETH 3068.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84