You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Welcome to Tampere - From Moonset to Sunrise to Sunset

in #finland5 years ago

My toes also still feel the cold. But fortunately after couple of weeks freezing temperature, I've gotten used to it a bit better and now it's just fun that the weather is so beautiful out there.

I have never swam in an ice hole, but I have swam when it was snowing and the water was somewhere around +5°C. The hardest part is always going in to the water. And in freezing temperatures the water of course is a lot warmer than the air so it's not that bad. But of course it's an illusion, it's still could and one should never be there too long. Just go dip in, swim a little and come out. :)

Funny thing is, when people get used to temperatures like this, and when the temperature rises and it's somewhere around 0°C, it feels really warm. Until people get used to that. :)

Sort:  

I have also never swam in such conditions but I know that back home we have clubs called 'ice bears' and they do it for better health and immunity. It seems to work and they are not ill very often..

Hahaha, I have never thought about it but I believe that you are right. As soon as your body get used to that temperature it starts feeling uncomfortable :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66631.72
ETH 3487.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71