Memories from my roots: Lieksa, Eastern-Finland

in #finland6 years ago (edited)

I might've already told that I used to live most of my early childhood here in this small city located between the big Lake Pielinen and the Russian border in the east.
According to Wikipedia there are 11,000 people living here, 8000 of which in urban area, and the rest in numerous small villages - the surface area of the municipality is quite big, but there's not that many people here. Though my father's cousin says that's a scam and that there's more people here than that. Well, maybe, that's true in summer at least when people come hanging to their summer cottages, pretty much adding 10,000 more to the population.

Anyhow, the city center is pretty much just a single road through the city.

DSC_01722021x1516.JPG

DSC_01762021x1516.JPG

DSC_01732021x1516.JPG
Supermarket and Lidl in the distance.

DSC_01742021x1516.JPG
Bakery.

DSC_01422022x1517.JPG
We used to live in one of the apartments in that block of flats.

I remember when we were preparing our move from that place, and for some reason I decided to just shred some papers I had and throw them down the balcony. I also remember there being a kiosk that sold candy on the parking lot, or right next to it, not sure if that is a correct memory though.

DSC_01502022x1517.JPG

This is where it started; in the inner court I used to learn and practice riding bicycle. There exists photos of me doing this.

DSC_01492022x1517.JPG

Seeing this place I always associate it with a hot summer day with swallows and their distinguishable shrieking in the sky.

DSC_01432022x1517.JPG

Right next to the apartment, there used to be a kindergarten here that I used to go (nowadays it's a senior kindergarten). One thing I clearly remember from here was seeing the three-wheeled red microcar driving past the kindergarten, I probably saw it several times.

DSC_01821516x2021.JPG
This local market building looks exactly the same as I remembered. Only the style has changed.

More cycling memories:

DSC_09991516x2021.JPG

I remember being on a safety seat and seeing the metal supporting framework bustling across my vision while my dad was riding.

DSC_10011516x2021.JPG

It was kinda frightening and exciting at the same time, being strapped there from your torso and feet without any control yourself.

Look! A bear!

DSC_01512022x1517.JPG

Not really, it's just a sculpture :D

It's not that forsaken town at least.

There's actually some events here - on Friday there was this event called Hämärän kaupan illat, "The night of dark business". Sounds much more shady than it actually is, the "dark" mainly refers to the time of the event which is at evening.
During the event the whole main street was occupied with people and sell spots with food and goodies. Some school classes were also fundraising some money probably for a class trip or something and different organizations were present. There was also some music performance and you could even sing karaoke.
The event was actually part of an "employment week" which purpose is to improve employment and showcase different options, so some businesses had "open doors" showcasing their agency.
Sadly I forgot to bring my phone (weird, I know), so I can't show you how the usually empty street got full of people.

Also, there's a theater that many of my relatives here are part of, haven't yet watched any show live, but I've seen some from DVD. I'd love to go watch live - there would be one show on Tuesday - but for certain reasons I'm already leaving tomorrow.

DSC_01452022x1517.JPG
A statue representing three humans doing... something.

DSC_01471517x2022.JPG
Pretty cool signpost.

DSC_01781516x2021.JPG

Apparently this guy, Pietari Brahe - or whom the statue represents - first established a city around here in 1653, though at the time it was called Brahea, after the name of the founder.

Like said, I'm gonna leave tomorrow. This time I will be heading back home. It's been the longest time I've ever been away from there - almost 4 weeks by now. Weird how it doesn't really feel like I would've been away that long.

The visit was pretty good, met all my relatives here that were on my list, and it was really nice to catch up with everyone. Met my little cousins too, some of them that I hadn't seen for years. Last time I saw them, they were kids, now their teenagers - one is already living outside of her home - and I'm this 20 year old guy that was pre-teen since the last seeing, lol. Kinda weird, but kinda cool to see them after such a long time. Of course we're not "best friends" right out of the bat, but I think I'm gonna see them bit more regularly than every 6 or so years from now on.

I'll catch you later, on the road.

Sort:  

Always admired small quiet towns. Place s beautiful

It does have its own charm.

That's a long time riding on the road. You have my respect!
Have a safe trip home! :)

Not all days were riding though :P Kinda nice to get some rest too.

Have a safe trip home! :)

Thanks @cornerstone!

Dear @celestal,

Your story attracted our attention and we would like to introduce our tag #archisteem that could provide you with some extra support. For your information, we are currently running the project – 1001 Places to Remember. Your content is a fit for the project and could be qualified for the 10 Steem reward biweekly contest.

It would be great if we can have this story of yours included in the project. If you agree, please reply to us.

Do drop by and take a look :) Hope to see you around soon.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

That's a massive project! Yeah, you can use this post as a part of that :)

Thanks @celestal! We sincerely appreciate that :)
We also look forward to read more of your stories and include them in our project.

Hi @celestal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.701 which ranks you at #4949 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 477 contributions, your post is ranked at #116.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57020.43
ETH 3081.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41