Bicycle Tour, Day 3: Exploring Hanko

in #finland6 years ago

Today I focused on exploring Hanko, the southernmost city in Finland, just after I found a cafe to refill my battery.

I took so many photos that a dedicated post for them would probably become useful, But I'll share you some of the best, I think, starting from my favorite.
DSC_06332022x1517.JPG
You might not see it there without zooming, but the statue says "for our freedom", "vapautemme puolesta" (Finnish) and "för vår frihet" (Swedish) Kinda fitting with the theme of my mission.

Being in the most southern city in Finland, of course I had to visit the southernmost point of the city which is accessable by a over 6 kilometers long trail going through conservation area. There are many unique species there, therefore the accessable area is restricted only to the trail.

DSC_06702022x1517.JPG

There were some old houses waiting to be dismantled.

DSC_06862022x1517.JPG

A pile of rocks marking the place.

Being as south as it is, it's really warm in here -- it feels like summer. But also I have been very fortunate with the weather so far with having pretty much zero rain and plenty of sun.

DSC_06952022x1517.JPG

Tulliniemi terminal on the left hand side. I think it goes bit more south but it's not public area.

The coastlines here are amazing, and I can't help but think that you, especially photographers, should visit here with your better gear. You could get some impressive shots here.

DSC_06572022x1517.JPG

DSC_06432022x1517.JPGDSC_06852022x1517.JPGDSC_06542022x1517.JPG

I might have gotten so in awe with the sea here that I decided to put my today's camp next to it.

DSC_07292022x1517.JPG
What more can you really hope for when even a chair is brought there for you to sit on while enjoying your dinner?

As great as Hanko has been, I feel that tomorrow is the time to leave. I have a week to arrive to my next destination which is more inland. Plenty of time, luckily, because it is going to be ascension most of the time.

Sort:  

City is really beautiful. I do hope you're well rested for the next trip, climbing up hills on a bicycle is very tasking

Should be only slight ascending most of the time. And big roads are usually less drastic with the angle changes, that's why I kinda like them even tho they are more occupied than small roads.

Great shots man. Hope the next trip runs smooth

As long as tires keep their shape it should be more or less smooth.

These are some great shots!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @tezmel! For the resteem also :)

Congratulations! Your high quality cycling content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Keep the pedals spinning, fellow cyclist. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the weekly round-up of our Cyclefeed blog. Thank you for using #cyclefeed



Learn more about our cycling project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62629.89
ETH 2572.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74