You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pirate Hunters - Finish the Story Week #35

in #finishthestory6 years ago (edited)

Well, this is the sound of chaos - just like most stories. Chaos! Chaos!

But nie, this story (like a good some) utilizes the feeling of Wither as a distraction to the later realization (which @stever86 did well in). Also this utilizes the psuedo shot instead of a real shot before boarding the hunters’ ship. However, the usage of Naval lingo and actual equipment possible in that age was really good and respects the age very well. References the aching back and Davy Jones’s Locker, which were nice touches. Now there’s a very restrained (but appropriate) usage of the pirate accent, so Ending immediately disqual...

Nie, I like that ‘twas subtle and there. (At least ‘tis flavor text with th’ limit’d usage.) But, in sincerity, the usage of personifaction is on point and adds to the text (never was a stickler for show-tell dynamics, as showing is a more flavorful and expansive telling). Also gore, bonus points. Anyways good on the realism of the application and byproducts of equipment (nota bene, gore).

Upvot’d and resteem’d.
Jevil.gif

Sort:  

Thanks for my new morning alarm tone, Felix! Researching nautical terminology set me off on a journey from ship's anatomy to weaponry then on to Ching Shih's Red Fleet and ending with matelotage and the request of prostitutes for Tortuga before I realized that I had yet to actually write an ending. 😓

Thanks as well for your comments! I was hoping to give you a bit of fun in reading. 🤗🤗🤗 (And I'm pleased that you didn't mind the gore!) I'll be having a crack at the accent again as I've been listening to way too much Abney Park and have sky pirates on the brain!

Love the chaos gif!

P.S. I found a plethora of grog recipes online. Any suggestions?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64658.37
ETH 3421.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52