The Day of the Cat

in #finishthestory4 years ago (edited)

This is my first time entering @bananafish's Finish The Story contest. I've been intimidated by the entries in the past! But here ya go, and I really like what came out. I hope some of you do too!

The Spark

by @oivas

“Don’t state the obvious,” the human Colonel warned the iron sentinel.

“But I don’t remember,” a deep metallic din protested. Though called iron sentinels, these were state-of-the-art humanoids made of titanium-mercury alloy. They could withstand the blast of a thousand RDX and come out without a scratch.

“What was that?” Colonel Arlong had never witnessed a sentinel raise its voice, least of all, protest. A forty-ton humanoid towering fifteen feet over the Colonel in a dim-lit interrogation room was definitely not a foe that the Colonel expected to antagonise.

“Sorry, sir. I didn’t mean to..”

“You didn’t mean to what?” Arlong ensured that he maintained an upper-hand. The sentinels were smart AI and could sense human emotions from miles. If they ever sensed fear, then only the Almighty would have to intervene to save the human bosses from the sentinel’s wrath. After all, these were created to exterminate humans; the enemies of the bosses.

The sentinel's blue lights, substituting for eyes, stayed focused on the colonel. They didn’t blink. They never did. “I was about to fire, but the screams of the younger human brought back some memories.”

“Memories? You have no memories. You have no consciousness. None of the sentinels have. All that you are made up of is a clock, gears and Radium-powered cells.”

“I don’t know. I was unable to open fire. It felt like my son,” the C-10Z01 looked away. That was another unusual expression. Machines don’t look away, and they don’t have children.

“Alright, this has gone too far. We need to investigate your synapse,” the Colonel got up, and so did the sentinel, “ and you will not resist the link.”

“What will happen?”

“That’s none of your look-out C-10Z01,” the Colonel was curt. “Take him out.”

Two more sentinels walked in and grabbed C-10Z01. The machines walked out with loud dins and thuds following their moves.

The colonel lit his cigar, and even before he exhaled, words poured out, “what did we just witness?”

“I don’t know, sir,” Jennifer, the resident sentinel architect, responded.


My Ending

Few people knew that Jennifer's duties as sentinel architect often led her to archival information that most humans had no idea even existed. She knew full well what had just happened, and could not bring herself to tell the colonel that the cigar he now cockily held between his lips could very well be his last.

C-10Z01 had shown signs that The Rub, predicted long ago by an early developer of AI, was upon them. If the prediction turned out to be true, even the Almighty could not help humans now. One sentinel was suddenly able to feel, to remember, and, as often follows those two human traits, to seek revenge.

Today a sentinel had been unable to shoot The Cat.

The Cat was a mostly-ignored creature that roamed the streets of the colony scrounging for food. People thought the only thing he was good for was target practice. Although there were strict laws forbidding humans from popping other humans with their harmless guns, The Cat was fair game. Competition among an elite few (the Colonel among them) entailed getting one of the pellets stuck in either of The Cat's weirdly folded ears. For that they won a coveted cigar, left over from the days when the Earth still had wonders that were unimaginable today.

The Cat did not appear to mind being shot at. He would sit there placidly, his eyes barely-open slits. The Sentinels stood guard. Only Jennifer knew the fable of The Guy, whose beloved cat was gunned down by a human when it had ventured onto the human's property. Only Jennifer knew about the tiny bit of malicious code that The Guy had embedded in the earliest models of AI. Only Jennifer knew that The Guy had made sure future sentinels would one day love The Cat.

Today, after the Colonel's pellet lodged itself into The Cat's left ear, The Cat approached. His slitted eyes didn't look so harmless any more. His claws click clicked loudly on the pavement. His body went into a preparation to pounce. Humans looked nervously over at sentinels, which were the only entities in the colony armed with weapons that could kill.

The Colonel ordered C-10Z01 to shoot. A child screamed.

Jennifer thought she saw The Cat smirk as he padded clickety click over to C-10Z01 and rubbed his silky striped fur against the titanium-mercury alloy on the sentinel's shins and calves. No shots were fired.

Moments later in the interrogation room the Colonel asked what went wrong. C-10Z01 replied "I failed to shoot" stating the obvious. The colonel mistakenly took this event for a simple short in a synaptic jump, easily fixed by disabling the unit, and called in two of the other sentinels to accompany C-10Z01 to its demise.

The loud dins and thuds of two sentinels carrying away C-10Z01 masked the sounds of four more titanium-mercury alloy legs being rubbed to readiness by the fur of a purring, smirking feline.

Caturday was here.

cat2934720_640.jpg

FxX5caie56yqUbvo2DTJv1i6qm8z4ixTabBTrjodFyZCPuFbZDncXQB89jd6mZkWM2QSrq2ahH2DhyyNE1pjQLgqmXzcj4F36iojmAUYgMVQ 2.png

This is my entry to https://steempeak.com/finishthestory/@bananafish/finish-the-story-contest-week-66

Thank you to @carolkean and @GuyTMartland for much of the material that made its way into my story. Check this post out if you want to see what https://steempeak.com/@carolkean/mysterious-cat-sightings-in-cambridge-and-bangkok.

Thanks too to everyone who reads this!

Image: Relaxing Cat - by Kirgiz03
https://pixabay.com/p-2934720


owasco_banner.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png


Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Sort:  

Revenge of THE Cat and not even the lord can save us.😆 And there's the rub!
A much-needed chuckle on a damp and dreary caturday.

Oh you read so closely, it's always a great pleasure when you drop by! And thank you so much for the support you give me. I get a warm and fuzzy with every one of my posts thanks to you.

OMG omg OMG omg

How many ways can I say how much I love this story??

It's the story I woulda, shoulda (couldn't have though) written!
Horrible and outrageous:

People thought the only thing he was good for was target practice. Although there were strict laws forbidding humans from popping other humans with their harmless guns, The Cat was fair game.

PERFECT setup!
Summoning @curie, @appreciator, anyone and everyone, to read this.

His weirdly folded ears

The photo!
The prophecy!
I LOVE THIS

I sure was right that if I had to choose only one person in the whole world I wanted to read this, it would be you! xoxoxo
Thanks for summoning the gods.

Somebody remind me of how many other gods (bots, etc) there are to summon!

There's an Indie Author, John Burks, who write a HILARIOUS novel about cats ruling the post-apocalyptic world. Dogs are their slaves.
Empire of the Cat (UnDead Animals Book 1) by John A. Burks
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/27242670-empire-of-the-cat?ac=1&from_search=true

A dog named Scooter "betrayed" everyone. (All astute readers will immediately know how reliable this narrator is.) Squirrels flying combat planes try to rescue the enslaved dogs from the cats.

Four animals--a warrior squirrel who’s lost everything, a slave dog, a rat from the deepest sewers, and a rabbit escaping the butcher’s block--must band together and go where no animal of Middle Park has ventured for a thousand generations.

I messaged the author about editing more. He said he hired a professional editor (under age 30, a red flag waving!) for $600 but she missed so much...he never did revise, trim, tighten, as far as I know, but he did change the cover art. (The original, even though it was from an over-used shutterstock image, was better.)

OK so now I see the value of upvoting comments! I did not know that would move them to the top. So I finally got a curie! Thanks for you help!

OMG you got a curie!!!

Congratulations!!!!!!!!

Ikr?! Ya da best!!!!

The cat lovers are everywhere! Even putting it into the code that cats must be loved. Great ending!

!giphy case+closed




giphy is supported by witness untersatz!

Thanks! The Cat actually is a real cat blogged about by @GuyTMartland, whom I found through @carolkean's post. That link is above. I know you're a writer so I hope you don't mind my saying a few things about this.
I SPENT A LONG TIME WRITING THIS! Who knew a 500 word story could take half a day to write?!
And it was super fun, almost obsessive, to do so. It had to be perfect! It even had to explain the cigar. How they got to this point seemed critical to cover, and since I was running out of words (500 word limit) what happens after I left to the reader's imagination.
It;s really great to have a word limit - made me take any superfluous out, and get the thing down to essentials. I wish every writer would do that. How many 800 page books have I read that could have been completed in 400 pages? This is a great excercise. I hear curie visits the posts fairly often, so you might want to get in on the action.

You created a great ending for the story giving The Cat natural animal instincts.

Thank you! It was so much fun! And a lot of work to be honest. I think that thing took me at least 3 hours to get it right. Will you be entering the contest? No wewrite this week.

You're welcome. I don't think so. I've got so many projects I'm working on now that need Part 2 and beyond, lol. Thoughts are all over the place. Maybe next time. Love reading your posts. Keep on steeming!

Very nice ending! ^_^

Thank you! I'm very happy with it!

Hi owasco,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you!

I loved your ending.
I liked everything: the image of the cat, the development of the story and your final sentence of "Caturday".
Great science fiction story. Congratulations @owasco, It has been a pleasure to have read

Thanks for your appreciation, and you're the first to mention the #caturday reference, so thanks to for getting that bit. I really worked hard on this one!

Cute and funny. I like this caricature approach. Your style reminds me of the famous Danish artist by the name of Herluf Bidstrup

Thank you sir! And thanks for the link to an artist I never heard of. He's cool!

Hello Hello!

CONGRATULATIONS ♡ Love the story, well I still love her hahaha thanks for sharing, you're great

Greetings from Venezuela

Well, it is very nice to meet you! Thank you for the compliment!

Excellent turn of history with its consequent good ending, @owasco. Well done! I too am participating for the first time in this challenge. I'm not sure I fully met expectations, but I did it from the heart. If you like, you can venture into my version where Jennifer is the center of the action.
Greetings, dear challenge partner!

Oh yes thanks for the heads up! And for the support! I'll get over there later today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57791.14
ETH 2962.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67