You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When The Tundra Calls / Remnants - Finish the Story Contest #58

Too good, @calluna!

Looking back, I'm more proud of the first part. I am satisfied with how I managed to convey the sense of a tough and harsh childhood, but still full of that magical look that children have.
The second part, with the bear and the old soldier ... should have been much longer than that. I truncated in order not to exceed the limits too much (even so, they are more than 600 words), but I had thought of a much more complex story. What is left is a bit bizarre and, if I say it, it could have been better.

Sort:  

It's the hardest thing - slicing up, cutting down, taking out, stifling and knowing that all of what you wanted maybe isn't in there. I can understand what you mean, because to you, you read it and see what you wanted to include and didn't get to, you see holes no one else can. There are brilliant lines in the second half of your second half

That avalanche of fangs, muscles and fur

which is that same careful word choice, it could only be a polar bear!

I think I can see what you mean about how you would have liked more in there, think we all might have this round lol but then, we can only answer so much in so little, and this is very entertaining, carries plenty of suspense, and packs a lot in there (even if it is slightly over) just means you'll have to join in again next week ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65650.34
ETH 2646.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87