You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Finish the Story Contest - Week #58!

in #finishthestory5 years ago (edited)

Oh! I am so very glad you set the bar on this one <3 damn, you better let us see the full 2000. This is so well rooted, the way you drawn on the wider environment, the setting, growing the banter and relationship between the boys, the history, their families, you make this real. Even with a no longer flying saucer.

The grit in this story is the kind that gets stuck in palms on adventures, the character you bring in with Traktor, the angles you add to the story, this opening has so much, and you maintain so much of it. Then the explosive ending, ahh love it!

A beautiful hectogon, elements that would shape this differently for different people, written with such skill. I could read this many times, and take it many different ways, I already have, and I am sure I will continue to.

Sort:  

As if i wouldn't ;) always enjoy musing over how you convey so much in so little. I am hooked on the description which isn't always a bad thing just need to find the balance you strike so well, the skill you have for being succinct is so impressive, it's what i need as my benchmark haha. I love it when you enter, and I get to see how you tell what feels like so much more in 500

I feel like we approach writing from literally the opposite ends, if we were to compare it to walking, from the end result it feels like you plan the walk, pack the bag, bring what you need, know where you were going, how long you would be out, and yeah you'd probably go off path a little, discover some incredible gems, and come home at the end of the day having had an amazing walk, whereas I more pick a point in the distance and head towards it with some vague sense of direction and get somewhat distracted, change destination a few times, suddenly remember the mountain i was going to climb, and might have a great time atop a false summit, but end up in some other world for a while then two days later collapse back on my doorstep and maybe never actually have got to the top I had aimed for. Rambling aside, your end results have been helping me have a bit more structure, and maybe like, aim for a path up the metaphorical mountain instead of just going on a bushwhacking adventure lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58180.92
ETH 2477.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42