Painted Portrait of my Father

in #fineart6 years ago (edited)

My father standing with his christmas portrait.

IMG_5242.JPG

Although the reference image is a little bit rough , the highlights, mid-tones and shadows are good enough for a painting's purpose.

IMG_4720.jpg

With vine charcoal I sketched his basic features.
IMG_4761.jpg

Then in burnt umber and titanium white acrylic paint, I roughly rendered the bust and a surreal environment.
IMG_4795.jpg

After that I glazed the whole face with old holland's green earth. Over the glaze I blocked in a layer of warm skin tones that I mixed up with van dijk brown, indian yellow, lead white, golden barok red, and alizarin crimson.
IMG_4975.JPG

I finished up the painting with a la prima technique, coloring the environment in prussian blue mixed with van dijk brown. I outlined his head with casein and glazed that with manganese blue to make his shape pop. Lastly I used titanium white to paint Lazaris into the background, thus referencing my father's personal spiritual teacher, friend and guide.
IMG_5256.JPG

Than you for viewing!
More art here!

Sort:  

hey buddy, i would change the tags to:

art
painting
blog
drawing
life

then the people see it better - I mean you reach more people.

Amazing painting of your dad :-)

thank you mane!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59367.33
ETH 3172.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43