Where the Heck is She? - Let's Find the Honeybee Queen #1

in #findthequeen7 years ago (edited)

Let's start a new game of "Where the heck is she?", the beekeeping version of Where's Waldo? When I teach an introduction to beekeeping course I always end the day by letting the students hunt for the queen bee in a series of photos. This always seems to be a good way to boost the confidence of the attendees as they leave to take on their own beekeeping adventure.

Since this is the first time, let me give a little bit of info for those not familiar with the honeybee castes. There are three types of honey bees in a hive:

  1. Queen - figures 31,32
  2. Drones - figures 33,34
  3. Workers - figures 35,36

In the figures below you can see the relative size of each.

Figures 31, 33, 35 are enlarged while figures 32, 34, 36 are closer to actual size.

A practical treatise on the hive and honey-bee BHL22706788

A typical hive will have just one queen with the remainder of the hive made up of drones and workers. Depending on the time of year and location, drones make up 0 to 20% of the population. Hence the large majority of the bees in the photos will be worker bees.

How it works


I will post a beekeeping photo from my collection that WILL contain a queen. I'm not going to play games and post pictures without queens that will just frustrate people. The goal is to be a challenge, but fun!!

The photo that shows in the post will be linked to the full sized version, so clicking on the photo will enlarge it for easier searching.

I found her!!!


Good job. Post a "I found her majesty" reply and show everyone you're sharp-sighted. Please do not point out the queen or give hints in your reply. Be sure to check back when the answer is revealed to see if you did indeed find her.

I can't find her :-(


Don't fret. Sometime after 10 "I found her majesty" replies or 2 days, whichever comes first, I will repost the photo in a reply with the queen identified. By waiting for replies, it will hopefully provide enough space that people can still search at a later date without seeing the answer.

If you enjoy this hunt, please consider upvoting, resteeming and following me. Thanks

Let's start off with an easier one for the first time.

Beekeep On!
@bushkill

Sort:  

I found her!

Now for a hard one!!!

Congrats on being picked up by @ocd !!!

I am a community volunteer. I try to stop SPAM and trash and things that hurt Steemit. IF you see anything like that, please feel free to let me know, I will look into it!

I found her majesty - I think?

I’m pretty sure I found her...can’t wait to see the blown up image to see if I really did 🤓

I have found her majesty! :D

I really love your idea brother, I'm gonna follow you for more! Good stuff!

I think I found her majesty!

What a fun way to learn, I'd love to keep bees someday, I'm a huge fan of honey :)

Congratulations @bushkill! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

There she is! Who had found her?

I'll do a tougher one next week :-P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65834.12
ETH 2676.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89